We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horseback Mexico at Rancho Pitaya”
Review of Horseback Mexico

Horseback Mexico
Book In Advance
More Info
$450.00*
and up
Oaxaca Discovery Overnight Horseback Riding...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horseback Mexico's riding tours are based 15 km. east of Oaxaca city. The owners personally guide & offer half-day, full-day,overnight & multi-day guided riding adventures. Ride through rare cacti forest and trek ancient mountain trails to breathtaking vistas. Picnic in the back country or relax over lunch at our ecologically built ranch. Decades of experience. Knowledgeable, English / Spanish speaking guides. Calm but fit horses for all levels of riders. Instruction available. Rates include transport from our city office. Join our new Ruins to Hacienda Ride along ancient trails, lots of birds and big cacti!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very nice experience. Two couples traveling together, we spent four days at the Casa Murguia in Oaxaca city, then the last two days at Rancho Pitaya. The riding was a great experience - hadn't been on a horse in 25 years, but the "seat" sense came back quickly thanks to a refresher course by Bobby Ortiz, who proved to be an engaging, informative, and educational guide to the Mexico, the area, the ranch, the countryside, and the art of riding. An excellent experience overall. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ssporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We really appreciate the time you've taken to write this review. And it was good to hear that riding quickly felt familiar even after so many years our of the saddle.
It was especially nice to know that your husband, who had very little riding experience, enjoyed his equine adventure.

We sure hope to see you back again.
Thanks again from all the team at Horseback Mexico.
Mary Jane, Bobby, Gabriel and Jayson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rancho pitaya"
in 19 reviews
"mary jane"
in 65 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 7 reviews
"riding ability"
in 3 reviews
"longer ride"
in 3 reviews
"day adventure"
in 3 reviews
"superb guide"
in 2 reviews
"delicious lunch"
in 3 reviews
"oaxaca valley"
in 3 reviews
"visit oaxaca"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 3 reviews
"horses"
in 101 reviews
"rode"
in 18 reviews
"scenery"
in 18 reviews
"trail"
in 24 reviews
"cactus"
in 14 reviews
"novice"
in 8 reviews
Filter

108 - 112 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have never been on a horse before and wanted to go riding with my husband to celebrate his birthday. He is an experienced rider and I was concerned that a) I was going to freak out b) I was going to hold him back. The team at Horseback Mexico were kind and supportive, talking me through the basics and giving me a certain feeling of confidence. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. It was a lot of fun and I would definitely go back. At my request, I took a shorter ride and our guide took me back to the ranch where I was able to hang out and drink delicious "aguas frescas" while my husband went for a more advanced ride. We both had a great time, the scenery is beautiful and the team are wonderful. If you have a spare half day, go! It will give you a completely different vision of beautiful Oaxaca.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank CathKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for coming to ride at Rancho Pitaya and taking the time to write a review about your experience.
Over the years we've seen how our calm horses help people overcome their fears of riding. Riding in small groups allows us to "customize" the experience to the abilities and wishes of the individuals.
We hope you'll come back.
Thanks again from all the team at Horseback Mexico.
Mary Jane, Bobby, Gabriel and Jayson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We started our day learning a few Mexican dishes that we would later have for lunch. Next, we were paired with our horse for the riding portion of the day. Their horses are beautiful and the ride up into the hills afforded spectacular views of valley below. We returned to a relaxing and yummy lunch before departing late afternoon. I highly recommend this to anyone who would like to get outside the city and have some new experiences.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tammie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Tammie,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
It was a real pleasure having you at Rancho Pitaya. In horse lingo you really know how to "cowgirl up"!
It was also fun seeing you later at the Frontera fiesta and eating all that delicious food.
Hope we'll see you again in Oaxaca.
Best regards from the team at Horseback Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

During our trip through Mexico we stayed 2 days in Oaxaca. Before the trip, we informed us about activities near this place and riding was on our "Todo" list. So we are glad that we found Horseback Mexico in Oaxaca. It took us less than a minute to decide, that we want to ride with Horseback. It was no problem to book a riding day 1 day before. This was great!
In the morning, we were driven to the ranch which is a very nice-looking mexican style ranch. All horses were in a good mood and condition.
After a short introduction into riding, we went through the beautiful landscape of Oaxaca hills for a first ride. Afterwards, we got a very tasty lunch, prepared by very friendly mexican people.
Then, the second ride started but this time with a little bit more speed through another beautiful area. Gabriel, our personal guide - greetings at this point to you ;) - was very friendly and considerately. He showed us the area and told us details about it.
We never were disappointed during the trip and we are glad that we booked a full day ranch ride instead of a half day. At the end, even the full day was too short...
Thank you all for this great day!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Johannes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you Johannes for taking the time to respond.
Gabriel, commented that you really became a much more confident rider by the end of the full day out. We do recommend the full day ride to people who would like to better their riding skills. The full four hours of riding allows us ( the owners / guides ) to give plenty of instruction while still letting travelers see a beautiful and authentic slice of Oaxaca's nature and rural life. Come back and join us on one of our longer riding adventures in the Cañada or Sierra Juarez regions.
Mary Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Did a half day ride during our recent trip to Oaxaca. The scenery was stunning and the ranch is run with utmost professionalism. The horses were really well looked after and evidently the managers are interested in providing a feel for a real Mexican ranch, with beautiful traditional adobe stuctures. Really safe and an experience you won't forget - recommended!

Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you James,
It's always helpful to hear feedback from travelers who coming out riding. We are hooked on traditional Mexican architecture and construction methods. Adobe ( sun-baked bricks made from 2/3 earth and 1/3 dried horse manure ) is not only beautiful to look at it's wonderfully thermal, making it very nice to live in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horseback Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing