We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ranch stay, great riding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horseback Mexico

Horseback Mexico
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Exotic Flora Half-Day Guided Horseback Riding Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horseback Mexico's riding tours are based 15 km. east of Oaxaca city. The owners personally guide & offer half-day, full-day,overnight & multi-day guided riding adventures. Ride through rare cacti forest and trek ancient mountain trails to breathtaking vistas. Picnic in the back country or relax over lunch at our ecologically built ranch. Decades of experience. Knowledgeable, English / Spanish speaking guides. Calm but fit horses for all levels of riders. Instruction available. Rates include transport from our city office. Join our new Ruins to Hacienda Ride along ancient trails, lots of birds and big cacti!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great ranch stay, great riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Rancho Pitaya for four nights. It made a great base of operation for touring to Mitla, Tomitlan del Valle, and other sites, using a taxi based near the ranch - didn't have to deal with the traffic getting in and out of Oaxaca to make these visit. The food was great, freshly made at every meal, basically Mexican cuisine but with Mary Jane's North American judgement of what would appeal. The casitas are new, beautifully built, nicely decorated - really lovely.
We did several half day rides around the ranch, and a longer ride near the archeological site of Yagul. All great experiences. Beautifully trained, strong horses, and wonderful scenery - there can't be a better way to see the Valley of Oaxaca.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. It's reassuring to know that traveler's who come to ride think the scenery is as interesting as we do, and there's no doubt that fit horses can take us places that would be so much more challenging and tiring to get to on just two human feet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return to Rancho Pitaya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the third trip I've taken with Horseback Mexico and the experience is always wonderful. Mary Jane and Bobby are so accomodating and treat you like family. The scenery is specatucular, the horses provide a wonderful ride, and the food and accomodations are great. This is the place to go in Mexico for an experience you will always remember. And like me, you'll want to return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatyF60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Katy,
Bobby and I thank you so much for returning once again to ride with us and stay at Rancho Pitaya
Riding with you and your husband make us feel so fortunate to be able to make what we love to do our livelihood.
Check out this new photo of Mighty mare nibbling fresh alfalfa in the rock garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hosts and experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Mary Jane and Bobby are great hosts. Mary Jane is super attentive both at the ranch and on the ride. The horses are great and led by riders who really know what they are doing, and take their guests' safety seriously. So if you are a beginner, you are in good hands.

The atmosphere at the ranch is lovely and the home cooked Mexican food a great pleasure to return to after a ride or walk. Drinks are always at hand, whether a crisp beer or a glass of fresh juice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aref_Kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure riding with you and so glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the saddle and at the ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Totally accomodating and a highlight of a trip to Oaxaca - highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a highlight of my trip to Oaxaca last week.

I am a beginner rider, having only ridden horses as a small child. I have a bad back and was a little nervous about that, as well. Mary Jane and her family were just so kind and careful to accomodate me.

I met them at their office, which is centrally located in old town Oaxaca. They were on time and drove us for an hour or so out to their ranch on the outskirts of town. It's a charming ranch. Everyone there was fantasizing about living there. They have horses, chickens, and they take in stray dogs that are all super well behaved. A couple of dogs even go along on the ride.

They carefully choose the right horse for each rider's needs. They pack a water bottle for each of you and then give you some training. There is a guide in front and a guide in back and we took off in a line. We took a trail that went up and down the mountain. It was not a flat dirt trail. It was a rocky trail through brush and it felt like we were doing something that took a little talent. That made it more fun because it wasn't just like a horse at a fair. The views were great and the hosts will coach you through the whole thing.

When we got back to the ranch after a couple of hours they made us fresh squeezed lemonade and took us back into town.

The whole thing was great. If you are going to Oaxaca, this is something you should do. If you're a little nervous about the idea like I was, give it a try anyway. You'll be glad you did.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslied2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are always so happy to see people have a "good horse" experience. Our horses like their job and take it seriously. We can see them walk extra-carefully and extra-calmly when they feel a nervous or apprehensive rider on their back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We only had a chance to go for an afternoon ride of a few hours, but even if you have had little or no experience riding a horse, this was a great time. Mary Jance, Bobby and her family made the whole experience easy and non stressful and the horses were calm and super well trained. We left on trails from the ranch and rode alongside the Oaxaca valley with views on to the agricultural fields below us. Mary Jane knew the flora and explained much about everything around us. After a very pleasant ride, we went back to the ranch for a delicious lunch. We were picked up and dropped off from a central location on Murgia in the historical center so the whole trip was taken care of. We were a group of 4, but this could work for families couples or even a solo traveller.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Horseback Mexico, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear T.
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of riding with Horseback Mexico and my apologies for taking this long to let your know it was much appreciated.
We hope you'll come out riding again on your next trip to Oaxaca. We can explore on horseback an entirely different direction.
.
Thanks again from all the team at Horseback Mexico.
Mary Jane, Bobby, Gabriel and Jayson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horseback Mexico also viewed

 

Been to Horseback Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing