We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, good price and quiet, but some needs some upgrades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luz de Luna Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz de Luna Hostel
Ranked #27 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, good price and quiet, but some needs some upgrades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The place is nice and cheap. Friendly staff. It is very quiet, specially during the night. The private rooms are dorms, but if you book one, they respect the price and they let you stay in a eight person dorm for yourself if they cannot offer something else.
The toilets in the dorm really need an upgrade, and even though the place is not the cleanest, it is not dirty. Just look out for the dogs that they have specially if you are allergic and for the all the fur that will stick to your clothes. Apart from that, it is a quite good price-location-room deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jma1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
25
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Rooms aren't the brightest places in the world. Private room is in fact a dorm, but it's not terrible. Showers and toilets could see a lot of upgrades. Anyway I felt there comfortable. It's a very very quiet place, like an oasis in the middle of loud and dusty city, where you want to stay more, cause of the relaxed vibe, nice hammocks, friendly staff and so on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyGunn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We really liked the place. It's an oasis of silence in the middle of the city's traffic chaos. :D The staff is very nice, even if it is sometimes not arround. There are 3 dogs and 2 cats, that add a lot to the atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ct2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at a BIG double bedroom with private bathroom for $300 pesos a night. There was an open skylight in our room, so when it rained we had some leakage and extra mosquitoes. One of the staff members was cool, the other was not so great, but she had her last day while we were there, and the new staff member was really helpful and was cleaning etc. There are two cats here, hammocks, roof terrace, kitchen to use, free breakfast, pretty good WIFI, and pretty well located on benito juarez and independencia, near the Zocalo.

Room Tip: private rooms, and dorms, your choice. all situated around an open hacienda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariocdlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

The place is disgusting, as we arrived we had to read the "rules
the man is so crazy he wrote rules as if we were in the middle age or something. No guests allowed, forbddien to eat or enter the kitchen and other restricting rules. There are animals everywere and bad smell so we couldn't sleep. we decided to leave our stuff for a vew hours and we had to pay to to owner! Thats the only place in our 2 month trip we had to pay extra mony for keep luggage. The staff was indifferent but acted as nice.
Don't go there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hosteluzdeluna, Gerente at Luz de Luna Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
That critic is from the last year, he had bad look with the old administration, the things change for good, sorry for the inconvinience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oaxaca hotels

Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Two words: Bed Bugs. Careless staff and disgusting place. It is cheap but you pay with your blood offering to the bed bugs. Oaxaca is a great city and it would be a shame wasting your stay there because of a filthy hostel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xaviour82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hosteluzdeluna, Gerente at Luz de Luna Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
In those times people who come from the beach brings bed bugs with them, i hope they do not imported to canada, sorry for the bad time this guy experience,
we control te bugs with enviroment friendly fumigation, consist in vaporization to 100 degrees celcius to every bed, since those times in the last yer, we did not have problems any more with bugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Luz De Luna is a friendly, comfortable hostel complete with kitchen, rooftop terrace and (somewhat iffy) wifi. It was well priced - P100 dorms, and P250 'private rooms'. (effectively a private 6-bed dorm), and each dorm has a private toilet within it. The facilites could use some renovating, but are otherwise fine.
It's a brief 4-block walk to the main square, and the french/mexican owners are very friendly and accommodating.
One point worth mentioning is the abundance of dogs and cats - so if you have allergies perhaps look elsewhere. The 5-odd beagles/hounds have free roam of the communal areas. As a result, when you get your sheets, check them for hair.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dune707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hosteluzdeluna, Propietario at Luz de Luna Hostel, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
A note: This review is from last year.

I very much regret the experience you had in the hostel. Now management has changed, we are very attentive to all those details. We want our guests to have the best experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#40 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
#16 of 97 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador San Fernando
Parador San Fernando
#10 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
0.4 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#2 of 97 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal de Las Americas
Hostal de Las Americas
#4 of 97 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz de Luna Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz de Luna Hostel

Property: Luz de Luna Hostel
Address: 101 Av. Juarez, centro. cp.68000, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Luz de Luna Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing