We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Escapulario, the Gem of Oaxaca”
Review of El Escapulario

El Escapulario
Ranked #11 of 469 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“El Escapulario, the Gem of Oaxaca”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We found El Escapulario on Trip Advisor, and was it ever worth it. During our month-long stay in Oaxaca, we ate there many times as well as taking several friends to join us there. The food is delicious, plentiful and the location, a few blocks northwest of the Santo Domingo Cathedral, is most convenient. The dining experience is wonderful in every respect especially if you can get the corner window table. In short, El Escapulario is a dining treasure in Oaxaca and very easy on the wallet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    48
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must order chile rellenos”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch here yesterday. The quality of the food is very good so this restaurant is a great value. Highly recommend the chile rellenos, special soup with spinach and huitlacoche, and thayuda, salad on a very large taco. Service can be slow as one person is doing everything.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BetsyBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic !”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

delightful setting, wonderful food, authentic and talented chef. pleasant service, the food deserves more accolades.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mira l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A delicious gem of a culinary experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stumbled across this place, and were enticed in by the full oaxacano menu and super reasonable prices, and after two visits in three days, can heartily recommend it to other travelers. The tlayuda sencillo was a delightful appetizer, and the mole coloradito and negro were both incrediby good. The chili relleno con salsa de naranja was also well worth trying.
Buen provecho!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chalupines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Comida Rica!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great food! The woman was both waiting on tables and cooking in the kitchen and we never felt neglected. The food was tasty, economical and well presented. She was careful to ask us for our preferences before she went to the kitchen to cook for us.The guacamaole was the best we{ve had yet in Oaxaca with freshwarm tortilla chips.
We will definitely return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAYE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Escapulario also viewed

 

Been to El Escapulario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing