We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Oaxaca
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Foundation En Via day tour

This tour is a must for anyone interesting in learning more about the people of Oaxaca and the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
346dellam
Please Do This in Oaxaca

You should absolutely take this full-day tour to understand Oaxaca so much better. 9 of us with a... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Burt H
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 590 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $47.57
More Info
from $7.99
More Info
from $159.60
More Info
from $22.57
More Info
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
560
27
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
560
27
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews micro loans micro finance their lives interest free loans tour fee responsible tourism small loans small business great organization volunteer guides non profit wonderful opportunity first hand tour takes restaurant owner positive impact money goes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My group of students and I did a tour with EnVía in which we were able to visit the businesses of four women who have received microloans from EnVia. The tour guides were very welcoming and very well organized. The organization itself has a strong central mission of empowering women in the surrounding communities with the broader goal of strengthening families and communities by first starting to support women business owners. Very admirable work. We learned a lot!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We took our fourth En Via tour this week. Each year we come to Oaxaca we book an En Via tour. They are absolutely wonderful and allow access to the lives and homes of indigenous women who are working to support their families through small businesses, that no other tour is able to give you access to. It is an amazing organization! The dedicated volunteer guides do an amazing job. The translator was so personable and the driver was great, too! We visited the homes of three weavers and ate lunch at a comedor that was the business of another recipient of an En Via loan. A wonderful experience, that we highly recommend to all.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank oaxacarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour to 2 villages with En Via. It was informative, thorough, uplifting, educational, and fun. Our guide Karen gave us a very good overview of the program in the van driving out to the first village. It was a pleasure to meet the women and see and hear about how the micro-loans have improved their lives. They were all very inspiring. Their was no pressure to buy, but most of us did leave the villages with more than we came with, and enjoyed the fact that we were buying directly from the women, and helping to support their businesses.

I agree with the earlier review suggesting that En Via post the schedule on the website (even if only a week or 2 before). That would also make it easier to choose which type of tour you want, and which village(s) you'd like to visit.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

The half day with En Vía was one of my favourite days in Oaxaca. I loved meeting the talented women in their homes and places of work and getting to know their stories. We met 3 weavers and 3 cooks (including a Tejate maker). I was touched by how generous the women were in receiving us. If in Oaxaca again I would live to go on another tour.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank rita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

The En Via tour was great! Brook and Kara did a wonderful job of making the trip great. The lunch was superb, and meeting the women owned businesses was an exhilarating and humbling experience at the same time. I appreciated how hard the women entrepreneurs worked. It was great to see how a small loan from En Via helps the livelihood of these families and their communities. Our bus was a lively group of people and a lot of good conversation happened. The real Oaxaca!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank anthonyjW7237XD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews