We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a museum”

Museo Textil de Oaxaca
Ranked #9 of 116 things to do in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Venice, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A gem of a museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you are at all interested in textiles, you must come here. Oaxaca is full of textiles for sale in the marketplace, but this little museum has gathered the most exquisite examples. Truly beautiful stuff - and it's a small museum, so you can savor it. Also a fabulous gift store where I bought a truly remarkable rebozo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    137
    48
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fantastic museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Don't miss it - take the time to read all the info, it will give you a complete vision of the history and work behind the beautiful textiles made in Oaxaca.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girl in california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

While the museum is small, the textile exhibit we saw was beautiful. There were textiles from Mexico, China, Afghanistan, Morocco.....The only improvement, from our perspective, would have been descriptions of each item in legible-sized writing on the walls next to the item itself. Carrying around a poorly xeroxed guide to the exhibit was a bit annoying. Upstairs was an nexhibit called The Decent Women of 58th Street. It's about the prostitutes on this street in Merida...and it was deeply moving and so well done. It didn't seem advertised anywhere (at least we never saw notices about it) and if you're in Oaxaca while this exhibit is still there - go! Although the museum is free, we urge people to make even the smallest donation in appreciation for this gem of a spot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wednesday 5pm English tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really beautiful museum. Comes to life with Wednesday guided tour in English (donation). Upstairs exhibit of "Las Mujeres de la 58 Calle de Merida" is EXCELLENT. Check it out!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Collection, not much from Mexico”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was surprised at how limited in scope this museum was. Three rooms with maybe 50 textiles...none of which were remarkable, and most of which were not from Mexico.
It was free, so perhaps worth a visit, but I wouldn't go out of my way.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hacesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Textil de Oaxaca also viewed

 

Been to Museo Textil de Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing