We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa Oaxaca(Oaxaca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Oaxaca Real(Oaxaca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa Catrina(Oaxaca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Abu(Oaxaca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
189
25
12
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
25
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationcontinental breakfastgreat linensthe bread puddingpaid attention to every detailstaff went out of their wayhomemade jamsnice propertyrooms are spacious and cleanevery requestamazing hotelsmall hotelsanto domingowonderful towntop floorluxury hotelroom safe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 228 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of this tiny hotel is fabulous! Yet we had no functional airconditioning… No hot water either… At the prices we paid, I felt we should have had basic infrastructure! Would not return. They found us a fabulous private guide to take us to see the sights for two days, and we were treated very well indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Respectable lady.


We regret that we didn't have the opportunity to know about the problem you had with the air conditioning in your room.
We always double check a room that all equipment is working perfectly before we deliver it to our guests and if during the guest's staying they report some abnormality, we immediately call the technician for repair it as soon as possible.
As for the hot water you mention, we really don't really understand your comment because this problem never existed in the hotel, even so far no other guests has stated that we have had that problem. The only explanation I can find is that the handle that controls the hot and cold water was not handled properly or didn't give it time enough to get the hot water.
Every day, for quality policy of the hotel, all of our guests are asked if everything is right in your room, if you need anything or have any special request. For part of you, the only request we received was get you a private guide, which we provided you immediately and fortunately you called him "fabulous".
We appreciate your comments about you loved our beautiful city of Oaxaca, as this encourages us that the Palacio Borghese staff continue doing their best to provide a high quality service.
Thank you very much.


Best Regards


Jose Manuel Lopez Ramos
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were treated like royalty. The staff was professional and knowledgeable. The staff were attentive to our every request. Our room was quiet and luxurious. We were in Oaxaca 5 days and of that time we ate in two restaurants outside the hotel and quickly learned that the hotel restaurant far excelled meals we had in town. I would recommend this hotel to everyone without exception. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Although the noise level in rooms on the street were acceptably quiet, the rooms at the rear of the hotel were exceptionally private and luxuriously quiet. If you are not satisfied for any reason with your room, you simply have to ask to change and the staff will do everything they can to accommodate.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajmediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese, we want to thank you for allowing us to be your hosts in Oaxaca, the staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve.
We are very proud to have provided a dining experience of our chef's hand and that our kitchen may have seemed the best of the restaurants he visited in Oaxaca.
We are happy to know that the special care we put into each of our rooms has been of you liking.
Thank you very much for your kind recommendation
Hope to see you soon.
Best wishes

Alejandra Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is Oaxaca's best hotel, in my experience to date. There are less expensive places that are good, but nothing matches Palacio Borghese. Our room was very comfortable, and beautifully furnished and decorated. Breakfasts in the main floor dining area were great, but on the very top floor were even better. And the open-air terrace on the next floor down made a great place to sit in the evening. However, above all else the service was outstanding. I've stayed in few hotels where the service was so very good. We were extremely well looked after, and the staff made sure of it. We have very fond memories of Palacio Borghese and will surely return.

Room Tip: I suspect they're all good.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

We are very proud to have provided a nice experience during your visit to Oaxaca , thanks for considering the best hotel according to your experience .
We are happy to know that you want to visit one more and the special care we put into each of our rooms have been satisfactory to you, and that your room has been ideal to give you the best sleep , the decor of your room as well as the furniture in your room as they left pleased, at Hotel Palacio Borghese are very interested in our guests that they like their rooms.
We appreciate your kind comments about our terrace , good to know you have been enjoying the beautiful view terrace offers guests of Palazzo Borghese, and breakfast in which we can find a true gastronomic experience Oaxaca .
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese , we want to thank you for allowing us to be your hosts in Oaxaca , the staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve .

Thank you very much for your kind recommendation.

Hope to see you soon to be your hosts again.
Best wishes

Alejandra Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you want great service, a great location, a friendly staff, a beautiful property...stay at the Palacio and you won't be sorry.... We stayed 4 nights and wish that we would have stayed more. There is really so much to do and see in Oaxaca... The staff bent over backwords to cater to any request that we had, other hotels could take a few lessons from how this hotel is run.

If I had to list a negative it would be the fact that there was not a dresser in our room, so we kind of lived out of our suitcase.....BUT...this was really not a big deal.....

Room Tip: I saw that others mentioned "street" noise...we never heard anything, and had no issues....the street in front never seemed too busy....
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberto3250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese , we want to thank you for allowing us to be your hosts in Oaxaca , the staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve , by it is dedicated to help you with all your plans to make your visit you to Oaxaca is an unforgettable and memorable experience.
We are happy to know that the hotel's location seemed wonderful , Borghese Palace is a small luxury boutique hotel, located in the historic center of Oaxaca city , which allows you to explore the points of interest.
We want to thank you for your kind comments about the beauty of our facilities and improvements that could have, as a result, in addition to the closet with that already had all the rooms, we have placed a closet in each room for the convenience of our guests

We are very proud to know that you recommend us.

Thanks

Alejandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel during a family vacation. Our original reservation was for four nights, but after staying one night at this hotel we cancelled our reservations at our other hotel and extended our stay for the entire week. The suites are roomy and comfortable. The staff is beyond friendly. They take pride in their work and do their best to accommodate any of your requests. By the end of the trip I felt like they were family.
The location of the hotel is prime. It is down the street from the church Santo Domingo (the museum and garden there are a must see) and blocks away from the Zocalo. There are so many restaurants to dine at with walking distance to the hotel among our favorites was Los Danzantes which we frequented for lunch or dinner daily. My dad became addicted to their Tortilla Soup. Keep in mind that the hotel also serves dinner. I have to say that their chicken dishes are some of the most delicious that I have ever had the pleasure of tasting.
All in all I was completely satisfied with my stay at the Palacio Borghese and I wouldn't even consider staying at any other hotel if I should ever return to Oaxaca.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MEG_003_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioBorghese, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The satisfaction of our guests is what we aim for and on behalf of the entire staff of the Hotel Borghese I would like to thank you for having chosen us as your home away from home.

Best regards & we hope to welcome you back to Oaxaca and Hotel Borghese soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews