We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, quaint, and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

There aren't any 5* hotels in Oaxaca, but this is as close as you can get for a small boutique hotel.

The good: rooms are spacious and clean with nice amenities. There was a small water fountain just outside our room that made a relaxing sound to sleep with.

Service was excellent and personal.

Breakfast is served until 12pm, so you don't have to wake up at the crack of dawn.

The bad: Mosquitoes. When we arrived in our room, we killed 7 mosquitos. It was as if the room hadn't been used in awhile and the flies made their home, or housekeeping left the door open for extended periods of time while cleaning. I was bitten 4 times and my girlfriend 3 times during our stay of 2 days.

The rooms also lack daylight. There was a small window opening up to a 3x3 foot space with a water fountain, but no daylight. Very dark.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the street are noisy from traffic, rooms away from the street are dark with little da...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ensnare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

We want to thank you for your kind comment , about which we are one of the best Hotels in Oaxaca in his experience, because it motivates us to move forward in the future.
We are happy to know that the special care we put into the details of each of our rooms have been satisfactory to you, and that your room has been ideal to give you the best rest , for the space, comfort and cleanliness of your room is something that defines us.
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the source of your room, we always take care of every detail to make your visit you are wonderful and relaxing
In Borghese palace all staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve , so we are dedicated to helping you with all your plans for your visit to Oaxaca you an unforgettable and memorable.
Thanks for your kind remarks about mosquitoes , we have taken special measures to keep out mosquitoes into the room.
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese , we give you thanks.

Alejandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palacio Borghese
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 194 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Palacio Borghese for three nights on our way to Huatulco. This hotel is very old having only few rooms but each one is tastefully decorated. On our last night there, we were the only guests in the hotel so the staff showed us all of the rooms; each one different from the other. The staff seem to genuinely care about their guests- can't say enough about how well we were treated! The location is great for exploring the city. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street can be quite noisy. Choose one facing the back of this hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sledgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

We are happy to know that you want to visit and the special care we put into each of our rooms have been satisfactory to you, and that your room has been ideal to give you the best rest in Hotel Palacio Borghese are very concerned that our guests they like their rooms.

We are very proud to have provided nice experience when visiting Oaxaca and know that it's location seemed wonderful , as you rightly says , Borghese Palace is a small luxury boutique hotel, located in the heart of the historic center Oaxaca city .

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese , we want to thank you for allowing us to be your hosts in Oaxaca , the staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve .

Hope to see you soon to be your hosts again.
Best wishes

Alejandra Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Beautiful house in the historic district, close to Santo Domingo and great restarurants. However , my room was facing the street and despite double windows, was very noisy at night. Good attentive and helpful service.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie-NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

We are happy to know that the hotel's location seemed wonderful, Palacio Borghese is a small luxury boutique hotel, located in the historical center of the city of Oaxaca.
We appreciate your opinion about our suite windows because thanks to it, we have changed the windows and just build beautiful windows but do not allow the entry of noise or the sound of the street.
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese, we want to thank you for allowing us to be your hosts in Oaxaca, the staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve.
Hope to see you soon to be your hosts again.
Best wishes

Alejandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I love Mexico, but had never been to Oaxaca.The location is excellent, less than 2 blocks from Santo Domingo. The service here is truly exceptional. The owners and staff went out of their way to make the trip memorable. They offer great advice when it comes to touring Oaxaca and went beyond the call when we had difficulties arranging tours. The Palacio Borghese ranks among the highest hotels in service and beauty in all of our travels, including the hotel we stayed at for our honeymoon.

The Camino Real, which is a fine hotel in its own right (very nice grounds, but impersonal), was initially our first choise, but long story short, our plans to stay there our entire trip fell through. We spent the majority of our 9 night stay, during Dia de los Muertos, in Oaxaca at the Palacio Borghese and wish we could have stayed there the entire time, as it was by far the better hotel.

We definitely plan to return to the Palacio Borghese on our next trip to Oaxaca. It is truly a memorable hotel and experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SandSSacramentoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the staff of the Hotel Palacio Borghese, we want to thank you for allowing that we were their hosts, and we hope with great joy to us back to visit.
As you mention, Borghese Palace is a small luxury boutique hotel, located in the heart of the historic center of Oaxaca city, close to museums, restaurants and resorts.
We want to thank you for your kind comment, about which we are one of the best Hotels in Oaxaca in his experience, because it motivates us to move forward in the future. In Borghese palace all staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve, so we are dedicated to helping you with all your plans for your visit to Oaxaca you an unforgettable and memorable.

Hope to see you soon to be your hosts again.
Best wishes

Alejandra Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed at the Palcio Borghese twice now and find that everything is excellent. The staff, location, rooms, beds are all that I look for from hotels, This is definitely my home while in oaxaca. I highly recomend staying here

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PlayitaBajaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

We are happy to know that you want to visit and the special care we put into each of our rooms have been satisfactory to you, and that your room has been ideal to give you the best rest in Hotel Palacio Borghese are very concerned that our guests they like their rooms.
We are very proud to have provided nice experience when visiting Oaxaca, thanks for allowing us to be your hosts in Oaxaca twice.
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese, we want to thank you for allowing us to be your hosts in Oaxaca, the staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve.
Thank you very much for your kind recommendation and for considering their home in Oaxaca.
Hope to see you soon to be your hosts again.
Best wishes

Alejandra Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Don´t think about it is by far the best place you can stay in Oaxaca, close to the action and the service is just fantastic

Room Tip: We had the Firenze room and it was great
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Engin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

A very nice small new hotel right in the historic centre, with very friendly, attentive and helpful staff (they were open not very long and so they do their best to push their hotel in the Oaxaca ratings as high as they can do). Rooms are spacious and stylish (they try to repeat a real Italian design), breakfasts in the inner court are fantastic and aristocratic. The only problem they have to fix is to completely change window panes and make a profound sound-proof work (at least in Siena and Padova suites). Because with their existing windows (of course, they are historic and almost antique, but not for a bedroom) it seems that you sleep in the street.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sibvaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese , we want to thank you for allowing us to be your hosts in Oaxaca , the staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve , so we are dedicated to helping you with all your plans for your visit to Oaxaca you an unforgettable experience
We appreciate your opinion about our room windows Siena and Padova because thanks to it , we have changed the windows and just build beautiful windows but dont allow the entry of noise or the sound of the street.
We want to thank you for your kind comment , it motivates us to move forward in the future, as well as you mentioned , Hotel Palacio Borghese , is a newly established hotel but we strive day by day , to be your best option .
We are happy to know that the hotel's location seemed satisfactory , Borghese Palace is a small luxury boutique hotel, located in the historical center of the city of Oaxaca.
Hope to see you soon.
Best wishes
Alejandra Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 108 in Oaxaca
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 108 in Oaxaca
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 108 in Oaxaca
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.3 mi away
Hotel Azul de Oaxaca
Hotel Azul de Oaxaca
#17 of 108 in Oaxaca
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Borghese

Address: Calle Ignacio Allende 208 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: $172 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Palacio Borghese 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palacio Borghese is located in an exceptional location, close to the majestic Santo Domingo de Guzman temple and a few short steps from the historic center of the city of Oaxaca. With its six habitations, Palacio Borghese offers the possibility of lodging in a place that offers privacy, whilst enjoying a personalized service enveloped in luxury and refinement. The charm of our beautiful cloister invites reading or meditation. The view of the historic center from the terrace, and the personalized attention of our staff give one the sensation of having had a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palacio Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing