We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice oasis in the city”
Review of Las Golondrinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Golondrinas
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice oasis in the city”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We recently had the opportunity to stay at Las Golondrinas for a few days while visiting Oaxaca. The property is centrally located and is within easy walking distance of many of the main attractions and restaurants in the historic district of Oaxaca, while still being in a quiet neighborhood. The hotel can best be described as pods of rooms separated by patios and garden areas. Although the rooms are basic, they are comfortable and our room with a king sized bed appeared to be larger than some of the other rooms with only double beds. The outdoor breakfast eating area is surrounded by gardens which made for a nice way to start the day and also to share experiences with other visitors. The breakfasts, which are not included in the room rates, cost perhaps a bit more than what you would pay elsewhere in town, but for us, the quality of the food and the garden setting made up for the difference. If you are considering a trip to Oaxaca, and are looking for a budget friendly place to stay with helpful staff, I would recommend Las Golondrinas.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room, ask for a king sized bed. All rooms appear to be pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    79
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
85
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Las Golondrinas have nice rooms in a patio which is filled with plants and flowers. Very beautiful and cozy. The rooms are also cozy, simple but very clean. Drinking bottled water is provided with room service. Location is great not right in the center but very close to it in the calmer streets. Service was very good and the manager is very friendly. Reservation was done via phone and although I could not pay in advance they did the reservation anyway. There is no safe box in the rooms but we did not feel the need for one as the hotel felt very secure. No breakfast and restaurant but in Oaxaca there´s plenty amazing places to eat everywhere around.

Room Tip: Any room on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almighty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Las_Golondrinas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Golondrinas, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hey Almighty J, thank you for commenting! We are happy you found our hotel to be comfortable and friendly, we hope you can come again someday. Happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I met a good friend in Oaxaca City and stayed at Las Golondrinas for 3 nights. It is a pretty simple no frills place, but the grounds are really quite nice. It is a bit of a walk to the Zocalo, but close to the Templo de Santo Domingo area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgagosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

For the price, it's a very good value. The gardens and surroundings are lovely, breakfast is delicious, the room was large and the bed and shower were very good. The staff was also so helpful and nice, and it was a great location. I'd love it if they had drinks on the terrace in the evening!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigisgorgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Las_Golondrinas, Guest Relations Manager at Las Golondrinas, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi gigisgorgeous, I'll pass the word along in regard to drinks on the terrace, thank you for taking the time to write your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hidden behind a nondescript facade, Las Golondrinas - with it's clustered cottages featuring wood-beamed ceilings, tile, and brick - is an attractive, quite respite, surrounded by leafy courtyards. It is just on the edge of the more upscale part of Centro, so it's very convenient (either to getting to upscale Centro, or to visiting the more edgy/hip bars and restaurants nearby) and also affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Las_Golondrinas, Guest Relations Manager at Las Golondrinas, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello SantoGabacho, thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a nice place to rest. Thank you for the beautiful picture of our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. There are rooms all over lovely garden courtyards. Both rooms we stayed in were very large and had nice furniture that allowed us to unpack a bit and sit somewhere else than the bed. The rooms are very well lit (unlike ANYWHERE else I've ever stayed), the beds very comfortable and everything is VERY clean and neat. This is a very secure guest house in an area close to anything you might want. And the desk staff was incredibly helpful and negotiated additional nights for us when the town was totally booked.

Room Tip: If you can get one with a small foyer, a wall between that and the bedroom, then if you are an earli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Las_Golondrinas, Guest Relations Manager at Las Golondrinas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello Eddice C! We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at Las Golondrinas! We're always pleased to see a guest enjoy our gardens as much as we do and are glad you found the room to be comfortable and clean. Thank you for your kind words and please come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for one week at Golandrinas in October. Would definitely stay there again. Very nice room, good shower, comfortable beds, lovely outdoor space. Staff very helpful and the location is very walkably central to everywhere you'd want to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#23 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#37 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#22 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Golondrinas

Property: Las Golondrinas
Address: Calle Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel Oaxaca
Las Golondrinas Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing