We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place, good location”
Review of Las Golondrinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Golondrinas
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hidden behind a nondescript facade, Las Golondrinas - with it's clustered cottages featuring wood-beamed ceilings, tile, and brick - is an attractive, quite respite, surrounded by leafy courtyards. It is just on the edge of the more upscale part of Centro, so it's very convenient (either to getting to upscale Centro, or to visiting the more edgy/hip bars and restaurants nearby) and also affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Las_Golondrinas, Guest Relations Manager at Las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hello SantoGabacho, thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a nice place to rest. Thank you for the beautiful picture of our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 227 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. There are rooms all over lovely garden courtyards. Both rooms we stayed in were very large and had nice furniture that allowed us to unpack a bit and sit somewhere else than the bed. The rooms are very well lit (unlike ANYWHERE else I've ever stayed), the beds very comfortable and everything is VERY clean and neat. This is a very secure guest house in an area close to anything you might want. And the desk staff was incredibly helpful and negotiated additional nights for us when the town was totally booked.

Room Tip: If you can get one with a small foyer, a wall between that and the bedroom, then if you are an earli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Las_Golondrinas, Guest Relations Manager at Las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hello Eddice C! We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at Las Golondrinas! We're always pleased to see a guest enjoy our gardens as much as we do and are glad you found the room to be comfortable and clean. Thank you for your kind words and please come visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for one week at Golandrinas in October. Would definitely stay there again. Very nice room, good shower, comfortable beds, lovely outdoor space. Staff very helpful and the location is very walkably central to everywhere you'd want to be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Golondrinas. After two mediocre hotel experiences, it was exactly what we were looking for — peaceful, quiet and beautiful.

The highlight is definitely the outdoor garden space. All of the patio space is covered by colorful plants. It's a wonderful place to just sit outside and relax, and makes it feel like you're walking through a jungle when you return to your room (in a good way).

They have rooms with queen- and king-sized beds. The queen-sized room we saw was a little small and sparse so we chose a king, but they have plenty of rooms, none of which appeared identical. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The shower had good water pressure and the hot water worked. The bed was very firm.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and we appreciated that the front desk is staffed 24 hours a day. They provide 1L of free water per day (after that, they sell bottles you can buy) and we were happy with how thorough the daily cleaning service was. You're set back from the street so road noise isn't a problem at all. The location is good (~6 blocks from most of the main attractions and not too far from the second-class bus station, which is the one you use to get to all the nearby villages).

The downsides: There is no wifi in the rooms, which frustrated us. Breakfast is not included and we weren't that impressed with the cafe on site (the coffee is terrible) but there are plenty of good places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avidtraveler0055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Las_Golondrinas, Guest Relations Manager at Las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hello avidtraveler0055! Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you chose our hotel, especially after your two unsatisfactory experiences elsewhere. We are also relieved that it was in a good sense you found our gardens reminiscent of a jungle. Your comment on the lack of wifi has been duly noted, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, we stayed here for almost a week. We had a King room which was large and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and there are lots of lights in the room which is a nice change after lots of hotel rooms with very poor lighting. The staff are very nice and helpful, the reception staff all speak very good English and you have to be buzzed into front gate so its feels very safe and secure.

We used the laundry service at the hotel, you drop it off before 10am at reception and they deliver it to you in the afternoon. It’s slightly more expensive than if you use a Laundromat but it is easy and convenient (they charge 50 pesos for up to 4kgs)

The wifi was very poor from our room (B6) It only worked in one corner of the room. However even with good reception the internet is not always the best.

The hotel seems fairly well known, we caught several taxis while in Oaxaca and they all knew the hotel by name. The location was good, it’s about a 10 minute walk to the main square and markets.

When we go back to Oaxaca we are planning on staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f44444444f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful experience. Clean, comfortable, friendly, great location, near the town square and a very reasonable price. The gardens provided a quiet serenity that was a wonderful surprise in this beautiful city.

Met the charming gentleman who owned this refuge. He has worked hard to present a Mexican experience and has succeeded.

No television, no refrigerator but I loved every moment.

Hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: A quiet oasis in a very busy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is like an oasis in the city of Oaxaca. Run by a very sweet old man who renovated the place after moving back from Mexico City.

It's clean, cheap and like 5 minutes from the center.

Can't really say much more besides staff are friendly, food is nice and it's really a perfect place to stay in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Los Olivos Spa
Los Olivos Spa
#39 of 109 in Oaxaca
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#22 of 109 in Oaxaca
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
0.5 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#23 of 109 in Oaxaca
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#40 of 109 in Oaxaca
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Golondrinas

Address: Calle Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $30 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel Oaxaca
Las Golondrinas Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing