We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful clean good value for money”
Review of Las Golondrinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Golondrinas
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
TEPOZTLAN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful clean good value for money”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We travel frequently in Mexico, we have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past.
It is a wonderful small hotel with clean comfortable rooms, beds with good reading lights for a change, nice patios full of flowers add to the feeling of privacy.
And a very good value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ADRIAAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    79
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
85
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Another great stay at Las Golondrinas. The back rooms are quiet, the gardens are lush, the wi fi works, the staff is friendly and helpful. We will continue to go back to this property. The cost remains reasonable, at 680 pesos for a king size bedroom "suite" for two people. Other rooms cost 600 or less. I was buying extra water at XOXO, or local tienda's until I asked what Golondrinas sold their cold bottles for; 10 pesos, no need to buy anywhere else. Will do a wake up knock on your door for the early flights out of Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Road noise can be heard from some of the rooms that are neat the front of the hotel. Kitchen noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retireandtravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

First thing - avoid room A1 unless you love to listen to the buses which zoom past your wall all day.
Second thing - the rest of the hotel is really nice, clean and peaceful. The courtyard and patio areas are a riot of magnificent plants which lend a tropical feel which I loved.
Thirdly - you are within easy walking distance of the zocolo and the mercado although you can always get a cab back to the hotel after loading yourself down with goodies.
Fourthly - the breakfast is not great and it is a bit expensive. Just wander out into the street and head to the zocolo and find a nice place on the way.
Finally - as a Mexican resident I found Golondrinas a bit expensive overall but still a verysecure, friendly place to stay.
Check it out for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidRGuanajuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

This is my favourite kind of hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff are friendly and the breakfast in the garden is enchanting. The owner Jorge is a very interesting man, with considerable expertise in local history.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mzantsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I don't need to mention anything about the lovely garden courtyards that make this hotel such a tranquil place to stay or the friendly, helpful staff. The guidebooks and other reviewers have already commented on these aspects. I just want to touch on our recent experience with some travel difficulties. We were scheduled to arrive in Oaxaca in the afternoon, but we missed our flight in Mexico City (due to Aeromexico's ineptitude, another story entirely!). We ended up arriving early the next day. Because we had booked beginning with the previous night and were arriving before check-in time the next day, the hotel had every right to charge us for that missed night, but they did not do so. We are grateful for that kindness and for a great stay at Las Golondrinas. I will not even consider staying at another hotel my next time in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel charges 600 pesos per night for a couple and we stayed six nights in room C22. This is the most we paid on our trip except for the Barcelo Resort in Huatulco and we paid 1280 pesos per night for an all inclusive program. The Golondrinas is clean and the staff are wonderful. The hotel is also in a great location and serve a very good breakfast. However, the rooms provide at best 12th century comfort. There was no place to sit at night and read in your room. The wooden chairs were from an other century.There was no fridge in the room to keep your wine chilled or a few beers cold and the hotel did not have a bar. We seldom had hot water and when we asked to have it checked all they kept saying was let the water run for ten minutes.This plumbing technique did not work. The wifi never worked in our room we had to go outside to get connected. I would not stay here again even though I gave it a three star rating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piperbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Reino Unido
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I recently stayed here on my first visit to Oaxaca after years of travelling in Mexico. It's a beautiful little hotel in a colonial-style building about 5-10 mins' walk from the main plaza. All of the rooms give onto leafy patios where you can hang out after a long day. The rooms are pretty, very Oaxacan, and come with bathroom, bottled water and fan, but no TV (wireless Internet is included in the price). My only complaint would be that breakfast - delicious as it was and served outside on the patio - was not included in the price of the room; yet there were a good choice of options on the menu. The staff can speak English and were very friendly and helpful, and cleanliness was superb. The guests here tend to be older, middle-aged North Americans and Europeans, or families, which keeps the atmosphere pretty tranquil. Overall, highly recommended if this is what you're looking for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilango_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#24 of 109 in Oaxaca
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
#13 of 109 in Oaxaca
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Siete Balcones
Casa de Siete Balcones
#6 of 109 in Oaxaca
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada de Chencho
Posada de Chencho
#71 of 109 in Oaxaca
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Golondrinas

Property: Las Golondrinas
Address: Calle Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel Oaxaca
Las Golondrinas Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing