We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$74
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$73
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$52
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$76
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
26
54
25
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
54
25
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathminute walkcommon areasrooms are smallbeautiful courtyardrooftop terracereception arealate at nightchurchcageslaundrykilobarriowashingoasis
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 121 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2006

From the Cruz family you recieve attention, interest, helpful hints and warm reception into their holiday fiestas. We spent a month renting a suite, (small apt) and could join hotel guests across the street for their inexpensive breakfast menu. The hotel is charming and the sight for Christmas Posadas, 9 nightly celebrations with song and snacks, ending in a Christmas Eve meal with their family. The guests in their hotel and suites were from Europe as well as Canada and the U.S. They helped us gather needed furnishings for a large New Years dinner we hosted in our suite, and provided extra dishes and candles for the occasion. We met many people who come every year for the holidays. They also arrange for tours to the wonderful adventures in and around Oaxaca. We plan to return for their warm hospitality!

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank fire-opal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We stayed at Casa Arnel from January 2 to January 24, 2006 while studying Spanish in Oaxaca. We paid 200 pesos per night (around $18 USD) for a double room with a shared bath.

Casa Arnel is essentially an inexpensive family-run guesthouse (there really is an "Arnel"), and represents excellent value for the money. There is a wonderful casual atmosphere, the staff members are lovely and helpful, and the design and layout of the hotel make it easy to meet other guests.

The rooms are basic but clean, and they all face a central courtyard filled with tropical plants and caged parrots. There are numerous little nooks and crannies where you can find a quiet place to read, catch some sun, and talk to other travelers. The breakfasts are wonderful, and we looked forward to the interesting discussions we had with other guests around the shared breakfast tables.

What others have indicated as a "negative" in these reviews, we viewed as a "positive". Casa Arnel is located in the quiet neighbourhood of Jalatlaco, about two kilometers away (or a twenty minute walk) from the Zocalo. Oaxaca is a wonderfully walkable city, and we considered the walk into the center of town to be one of the highlights of our day -- you pass through various neighbourhoods, many of which don't see the crush of tourists that is omnipresent in the center. Another reviewer mentioned the constant activity at the church across the street. Personally, I loved the fact that there was always something going on there: We could sit in the rooftop garden overlooking the street, and watch everything from funerals, to weddings, to fiestas, to church executive meetings, all taking place on the church grounds. And any church that incorporates exploding firecrackers with their service is all right in my books.

To sum up: I almost can't imagine staying anywhere else in Oaxaca: We looked at numerous other hotels as we wandered through town and none of them had the combination of friendly atmosphere, quiet location and the happy, helpful staff of Casa Arnel. If you're at all oriented towards staying somewhere out of the touristy center of town, and are willing to accomodate a bit of walking and true neighbourhood street life, do yourself a favour and stay at Casa Arnel. The place is a gem.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Johnula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver Island, canada
13
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Well , the apts which are part of Casa Arnel leave a lot to be desired. At 7am the street outside is getting very noisy with sellers of water , propane etc hawking their wares. The noise is pretty constant going on well into the night. For your money you get a sparsely furnished apt. No comfortable chairs to sit on, Even the metal patio furniture lacked some cushions. If you stay there be sure to take a couple of towels, t towels, bug spray ( to eradicate spiders & cock roaches) & of course toilet paper, hand soap & the list goes on.
As far as I am concerned I would spend a bit more to get into something that was more basic rather than sparten & definately in a quieter area of the city. Probably 2 weeks at Arnel's would be more than enough.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2006

Bofore I get into this I want to say that we stayed in the Apartments at Casa Arnel no the Hotel itself.

The apartment we rented cost us $450 U.S. per month and is approx 1/2 block away from the hotel. I'm not sure what we expected but these units are at best spartan. The unit we stayed in had a kitchen which consisted of a two burner hot plate and a stove and sink. The major problems are noise as you are at street level and a lack of water pressure and hot water. That of course does not include the spiders and cockroaches.

Now having said all this would I recommend these units, possibly, providing that you remember that you are getting an apartment for $15 U.S. per day and even in Mexico thats inexpensive. There are many other alternatives available including the rooms in Arnels hotel which may be more suitable, and it appears that for about $30 to $35 U.S. per day you can find very comfortable accommodations in this city.

The other major problem with this hotel is that it is adjacent to a very active church which thinks nothing of setting off firecrackers and marching there band around the block at 11 in the evening or 5:30 in the morning and unfortunatly this is not a rare occurrence

All in all I would suggest that you check this hotel out closely before you book, and check the church calendar closely as well. Other than this I would recommend Oaxaca strongly as a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2006

I just got back from a week at Casa Arnel. It was a perfect place to retreat to for many reasons. There are different public spaces to relax in - some shady, some sunny, some with hammocks. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfasts are delicious and quite a bargain. My room, a renovated corner one, was quiet and peaceful. I enjoyed the walk to the zocalo since it allowed me to see other parts of the city than just the main center. As with most Mexican plumbing, don't be too generous with the toilet paper. Their plumbing just can't handle it.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tiggerphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews