We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest hotel in Oaxaca!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Arnel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Arnel
Ranked #68 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coolest hotel in Oaxaca!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This hotel is an amazing site it is a plain but an amazing adventure for kids. My father used to bring his spanish studets here and they all love it and still come back! It as a small library and almost all outdoor space! The family that ownes it will give you great places to go!! Casa Arnel is my favorite place to stay in Oaxaca!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sillygks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
11
28
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hotel Casa Arnel is in a quiet neighborhood of Oaxaca City, a 15-minute stroll northeast of the zocalo. For us being away from the bustle of the city center was a big plus. The building surrounds a lushly planted courtyard. One side is the family's home, the other three sides the hotel. The family and staff are very kind and accomodating, and if you miss your pets, the family's hairless dog, Rex, responds well to friendly overtures. Even the parrots who live in the courtyard by day are friendly.

The rooms are basic--no tv, no phone--but clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. Breakfast at a communal table is available for an extra charge, cooked to order while you chat with the other guests. We had a room with a private bath, but there are rooms with shared baths also, at a lower rate naturally. There's a roof deck overlooking the colonial-era church across the street, and hammocks on a covered roof deck for relaxing.

They offer a variety of excursions, classes, etc. by arrangement with outside contractors. We booked a trip to Tule, Mitla, and other points east through them and had an excellent day with a driver fluent in English and a very comfortable van.

I got no response to emails I sent from home before we arrived in Oaxaca, and I don't think computers are a big part of the family's life, so if you want to make reservations don't count on using email to do it. I definitely intend to stay at Casa Arnel whenever I'm in Oaxaca in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlesP723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. I had a single room with shared bathroom (but i never saw anyone else use the bathroom). Not a huge room by any means but comfortable. Lovely green courtyard that is very tranquil. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (not included) options are very reasonably priced. It's about a 15 minute walk to the Zocalo but given how pretty the streets of Oaxaca are this was almost an added bonus, walking different ways to/from the hostel to discover new streets and colourful buildings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

During my teaching career I frequently brought college students to Oaxaca and we always greatly anticipated our stays at Casa Arnel. The comfort and tranquility of the courtyard and terraza are wonderful escapes from the active days in and around the city. Communal style breakfasts increase the opportunity to meet distant travelers and learn from some of their myriad experiences. The staff and family of Casa Arnel are totally attentive and responsive to the needs and concerns of the client. Even today, although I am no longer teaching, I bring my wife and young daughter for extended stays at Casa Arnel. The location of this hotel provides a comfortable and historic walk to the mercado central Benito Juarez and the Zocalo, center city.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timcito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We have been staying at Casa Arnel since 2001. The Cruz family has made a lot of improvements over the years. They are always friendly and helpful. The courtyard is charming and the rooms are nice. My Mexican grandchildren enjoy exploring the various outdoor spaces. It's nice being away from the center of town in a traditional neighborhood with cobbled streets. It's about a 15 minute walk to the zocolo.

I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank margotlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We arrived there during Samana Santos and were simply delighted with everything about the place. It was clean, inexpensive, and easy to find (a four block walk thru a good neighborhood from the TAPO station). The staff were great, and the owners of the hotel are in residence there. They were warm, friendly, helpful, pleasant and just great all around. Breakfast was great if you wanted to eat in, and the courtyard/garden on the interior was great. Oaxaca is a great soother of your soul anyway, and Casa Arnel punched all the right buttons for the "inner artist" in my wife. We met people from all over the world (lots of Europeans). Cannot recommend this place highly enough if you want good, clean affordable stay with a great ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanstaafl72555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Happily stayed one week with our 3 year old son. Planning again this summer already with two children. What else can I add? Clean, helpful, family friendly place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akulis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#25 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#21 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Posada de Chencho
Posada de Chencho
#57 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gala Oaxaca
Hotel Gala Oaxaca
#78 of 111 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cazomalli
Hotel Cazomalli
#94 of 111 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Arnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Arnel

Property: Hotel Casa Arnel
Address: Calle Aldama 404 | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca 68080, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Arnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Arnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arnel Oaxaca
Casa Arnel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing