We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“International Film Festival site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teatro Macedonio de Alcala

Teatro Macedonio de Alcala
Ranked #28 of 116 things to do in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This theater, constructed in 1903, is still a popular place for performances.
Colombia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“International Film Festival site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

For 30 pesos you get to visit inside the theatre plus see a good movie.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank letitiaottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    23
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
c
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spectacular theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This theater is beautifully restored. I saw a film here as part of an independent film series, but I don't know if it matters what you see here. Just go...the gorgeous interior itself is probably worth the price of admission.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 123cx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales NM
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Culture in Oaxaca City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This opera house is small enough for attendees to to feel personally involved with performers. Opera via internet, dance, music by local Mexican performers as well as internationally known people. A treasure in the city

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank babanm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful retro theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

there are a huge variety of presentations and frequently they are free. The theater is beautiful itself with many layers of box seats. It is worth it just to get in to see the theater.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
604 reviews
381 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
“Lovely old theatre around 100 years old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

This is the main old theatre in Oaxaca and just a short walk from the very center of town. It is a very lovely piece of architecture and we wanted to see what was inside this century old theatre but that was not possible. We asked if any concerts were upcoming and we were going to be around Oaxaca for two weeks but the timing did not work. A door was open for information and selling tickets but nothing was scheduled for our time in Oaxaca. After our departure a simulcast performance of an opera from the Met in NYC was upcoming and for about half of what those cost in the US. Some old historical theatres in Mexico let you peek inside, sometimes for a small fee and sometimes for free but not this one in Oaxaca. We would have loved to have seen the inside since the outside was lovely. However, we did discover the modern Teatro Juarez several blocks north of the center of the city on Parque Juarez and on Avenida Juarez had frequent performances of different genres. Most were also free.

Helpful?
1 Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Macedonio de Alcala also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Macedonio de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing