We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as impressive as I had hoped”

Basilica de la Soledad
Ranked #13 of 116 things to do in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 17th-century church contains an interesting museum of religious art.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not as impressive as I had hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This Cathedral is nice, but a bit run of the mill. Nothing to set it apart from others in Mexico. Still worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sher_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    77
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside and outside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The Cathedral is amazingly beautiful, definitely worth visiting, but we loved just hanging out around the sq and watching local kids playing soccer, practicing some kind of dancing or marching..Always something to watch..Its lit beautifully at night and I kept catching myself thinking how incredible it was. Lucky us, our hotel was just a block from the place, and we kept coming every day. Lots of ice cream vendors, try mezcal one, its really good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 209Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First Visit the Basilica then the Unbelievable Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Basilica is full of people day and night and is very ornate with lots of gold leafing. During Lent it was filled with many bouquets of flowers. The Museum is a must to learn of the history of Oaxaca with great explanations and history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

One of many churches around Oaxaca city. Just in front of it, there is another church, and nice place to have ice cream. Try it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virgilio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My heart of Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The cathedral itself and surrounding complex are substantial and beautiful. The Basilica is like its own lively little neighborhood - lots of social, religious, and cultural activities all the time. The museo has an interesting collection of votive items. In response to inquiries about the Soledad's fiesta, we received extraordinarily kind help from a man working in the cathedral shop.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica de la Soledad also viewed

 

Been to Basilica de la Soledad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing