We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“I love this hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona Del Llano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casona Del Llano
Ranked #66 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I love this hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times in the past fifteen years and I have always been very happy with it. The location is perfect -- close enough to the city center to walk there easily and far enough away to escape the noise at night. Beds are comfortable, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the restaurant has a really nice location, especially sitting on the porch across from Juarez Park, which is quite lovely. There is a computer in the lobby for guests and a free newspaper under your door in the morning. Casona del Llano has become my home away from home in the city of my heart, Oaxaca!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

This was my first time to Oaxaca and it more than lived up to my expectations. I traveled around Mexico for three weeks and this was by far the cleanest room I had. It was spacious and had higher ceilings than I expected. My room was right off the main courtyard and was nice to be able to open my window to see the fountain in the morning. I wish I had thought about taking pictures!

The hotel restaurant was very convenient and had a wide variety of options for things to eat and drink. I really did not have much time to eat there because I was so busy, but I did have their hot chocolate and vanilla Atole which I really liked. In regards to location, I did not mind that I had to walk ten minutes to the Zocalo. The location of this hotel is perfect to me. Right across the street is a large park where people were running early in the morning and late at night. Sometimes there are food vendors. I was disappointed to see mostly hot dog vendors though. I was looking for more authentic Oaxacan fare or mexican food in general. On the same side of the street at the end of the block there is a Wings restaurant if you prefer. There is a bus that you can take from the next block all the way to the center near the mercado if you are too tired to walk. The mercado has wonderful places to eat too.

The hotel offered tours that go all day or half day. I HIGHLY recommend taking at least one if you want to see any of the historical parts of Oaxaca. I can't remember the exact cost but it was very reasonable because we saw other places offering the same tour for more. The rate the hotel gives is for guests. My favorite one was the all day tour that started in Monte Alban. I think it was 250 pesos per person, but don't quote me!

The staff of the hotel was very courteous and friendly and more than willing to be accomodating. We checked out in the morning but our flight was not until 10pm and they let us leave our luggage in a secure area and let us come in and out to relax and sit after walking around town. I really appreciated that. I will be coming back to this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bespin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

If you don't mind being several blocks from the heart of Oaxaca — the Zocalo — this hotel is ideal. We had a large room with comfortable beds, just off a nice courtyard in which we were greeted on arrival by the voices of dozens of birds. Free parking, a good restaurant and directly across from El Llano park make this hotel an excellent choice. And the room rate was just over $53 US. The lobby and restaurant are in an older part of the building than the rooms, and the design and decor is very attractive.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio,TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

A friend and I came to Oaxaca to visit my daughter,who is in Mexico for a entended time period,we had heard good things about La Casona from a friend who has stayed there for 20 yrs when he visits Oaxaca ,so we took his advice and were not disappointed,our stay could not have been better,we loved the people and the town !

  • Liked — The location and the ambience
  • Disliked — The beds were a little hard for my old bones! But not too bad!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacathGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

A very nice hotel within a historical house. Very nicely kept and clean the staf is courteus and is across form a nice park frquented by locals. It is within walking distance to the zocalo.

  • Liked — The location and loks of the old house
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pod_Kap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

I was put up at the Hotel Casona Del Llano during a one month stay with a study group of US professors. The rate card said 880 pesos, but I think they were charging about half that for extended stays. This hotel just got wireless internet, so bring your laptop.

The food is first-rate and reasonable. A plate of chiiquilles, a new dish for me, tortillas with green sauce and chicken is under 60 pesos or $6 US. The Sopa Azteca is also very good. It is a treat to drink coffee and watch the day start in the park across the street from the vantage point of the hotel's patio. People from Oaxaca fill the restaurant on weekend afternoons, it is not high-end cuisine, but the locals like it.

From the front the Casona Del Llano looks like a mansion, inside the courtyard lack some of the ambiance of other colonial style hotels in Oaxaca, but the bedrooms are larger than average. Towels are super and the service from houseskeepers, the front desk and the waitstaff is outstanding.

There is a guard at the gate all night, and this neighborhood seems a lot quieter than the zocolo. I recommend it, call ahead and see if they will give you a good rate.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kevinmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2002

I have been to Oaxaca 10 times and love the city. My favorite place to stay is La Casona del Llano. There is an excellent restaurant, a beautiful courtyard and garden in the middle of the rooms, and a courteous staff.

One day I saw them clean my room. You would have a hard time finding a place here in the US cleaned as thoroughly as they do! It is a simple hotel, but beautiful at the same time.

It is across from Juarez park, a few blocks from the Zocalo. It is a little quieter than being near the square

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
#67 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#39 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Del Dominico
Parador Del Dominico
#27 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Un sueno Valle de Huajes
Un sueno Valle de Huajes
#69 of 111 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Conzatti
Hotel Casa Conzatti
#32 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parador Crespo
Hotel Parador Crespo
#79 of 111 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona Del Llano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona Del Llano

Property: La Casona Del Llano
Address: Avenida Juarez 701, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casona Del Llano 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casona Del Llano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Del Llano Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing