We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
27
34
26
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
27
34
26
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square great location on christmas eve front desk staff the entire hotel hot water hotel restaurant oaxaca city within walking distance cathedral radish balcony festivities mexico
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 107 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2019 via mobile

This historic hotel is very well located right at the main square or “zocalo” in downtown Oaxaca, right next to the cathedral “Nuestra Señora de la Ascensión”/ Our Lady of the Ascension.

Every type of amenity is at walking distance since you are in the middle of everything. However, there lies my comment.

In spite of double glass windows there is constant noise from the outside should your room face the square: musical bands, mariachis, you name it, its there. We traveled with my 2 small kids and hence, decided to move after the 1st night in order to ensure a more peaceful location. Perhaps if you ask for a room that faces the inside courtyard you will not have to deal with the noise that lasts until very late hours. Those rooms are smaller though.

Its a hotel that meets the bare standards of comfort so don’t expect too much. The beds are ok, hot water with very good preasure, a decent cafeteria in the arched portal facing the square, and a very basic wifi.

The entire hotel is a bit dated and could use an lift-up in the rooms and lobby, but if you are looking for that type of aged flavor, then it will fully meet your expectations.

If you have a rental, the hotel offers overnight parking about 3 blocks from the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank GuillermoSepulveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018

Arrived the 3rd week of December (month long trip) through Central America. I will say that I was glad I reserved my stay at this hotel as it was right in the center of the city.
escorted to my room by the "bell captain". At first off i was definitely impressed.
1st floor with a balcony. French style balcony with no room to sit out on so I ended up sitting on the air conditioner outside.
After a few days at the hotel I realized that the room was quite small.
Had two double beds. Would'a have liked a king size bed but...
Went down to the restaurant every day for coffee as the the room did not have a coffee maker. A must.
No breakfast was included. Booked at the hotel web-site.
The drapes left something to be desired in the sense of "blackout drapes".
Hotel should think about putting them in the rooms.
Anyway, as I said earlier location and price cannot be beat.
It seemed every night the was a concert in the "zocalo". Regional children putting on a show. Enjoyable to listen to.
Stay there again? Probably because of its central location.

Room tip: Select a room with a balcony
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortWorthJeffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018 via mobile

I have stayed here 10 times over the past 30 years. The location, front desk staff, restaurant, and reasonable cost makes this the best value hotel.
Walk out the door and you're in the zocalo. Go up a few steps and you're at the best cafe on the square.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank suz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting Oaxaca City. This place is right off the main zocalo making everything worth doing on a short trip very accessible. There are plenty of coffee shops and restaurants well within walking distance. The room we had faced the main square with a window opening up to a small balcony. Thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would again in a heartbeat. Oaxaca City always has something going on to explore making this a fun and exciting destination!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 221jackiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

This is the one if you want stay right in the thick of things but is surprisingly quiet with the windows closed

Service is very good and a better than average restaurant on the ground floor. Two small elevators for those who need them.

We've stayed here twice, both times during the Night of the Radishes and Christmas eve and day.

During the Night if the Radishes being able to watch the setup, the spectacle and it's disassembly from your hotel window is a great treat.

The moving parties and parades on Christmas eve is also a treat, but overlooking the Zocolo any time of the year is very nice if you can stay here.

Clean, not fancy but great location, worth the premium if you want be right there with the party right outside your window

Room tip: The lower floors have the better intimate views.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T0DC0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews