We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location for Day of the Dead celebrations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marques del Valle
Ranked #64 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Day of the Dead celebrations”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel has location, location, location! It is on the Zocalo and EVERYONE tried so hard to please us! Great staff. Choose a room from 405 to 407; 305 to 307,etc. The views are towards the sunset and the church. Hence when you turn on the AC you drown out the Battle of the Bands. IF YOU ARE FORTUNATE ENOUGH to be the for Dias de los Muertes, there is no other hotel to experience the "scene" than here. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
22
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dryheat15
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Not much to add about the location, it's the best. Right on the zocalo with access to all the downtown attractions just steps away. As to the criticisms I'd say they are relatively accurate, but none of that really mattered to us. it is authentic old world Mexico, thus...
It is noisy, but it's an old building so turn on the a/c for white noise or wear earplugs, especially during the major fiestas.
Rooms are drab, that's fair but not important, beds are firm but that's our preference, we slept great.
Internet is shaky but we weren't there to do business, it works if you are patient, you're not exactly on the info-superhighway in Oaxaca. At least they have it everywhere in the hotel.
Peddlers while you're eating on the patio, for sure, but if you're no good at sending them on then sit back from the railing, there are lots of tables and you don't give up any of the view.

Personal favorites for me were coffee on the patio in the morning while planning the day, it looks out on the zocalo, which is among the prettiest in Mexico. A room service bucket of ice for a evening beverage, delivered within minutes. Delicious breakfast served promptly, the fruit and mermeladas were a highlight.

One point, if you are there during the warmer season and need a/c not all rooms are so equipped so ask ahead.

We would certainly stay there again and we didn't find the pricing to be out of line relative to the experience but that is subject to everyone's individual standards.

Room Tip: as I said not all rooms have a/c. Also they have some rooms that are interior, no exposure to the z...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dryheat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The location cannot be beat if you go to enjoy the vibrant main town plaza (Zolaco). However, it is noisy and I found it uncomfortable that people would come up to the tables and beg when we were having breakfast on the terrace. Rooms are drab, the bed uncomfortable, and Internet was spotty and unreliable. I stayed there for business, and found it an inconvenience that my room did not have a proper desk, and working/writing in the restaurant was not really an option due to scarcity of electrical outlets for the laptop. Staff was friendly, but indifferent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaviotaGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oaxaca hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is pretty much in the cathedral complex, seriously it takes 10 seconds from the front door to the door of the cathedral. Apart from that, the hotel itslef is very badly decorated and there are unfinished parts, the rooms are tiny, the beds not really comfortable and the showers spill water all over the bathroom. No outside windows and no air conditioner. Poor internet service.
I stayed during new years eve and there was a lot of noice because of the festivities, but since we did not return untill well past midnight and everything was quiet by then, that wasn´t to much of a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms with outside windows highly recomendable, it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville Tx
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I and grown daughter stayed here for three days and found sleep almost impossible due to noise, both inside and out as well as hard uncomfortable beds. The prices could only be due to their location as we found nothing else to possibly justify them. The staff was friendly but unhelpful. We had stayed here previously a few years ago and not much had changed except the prices. On the positive side the room was large with a good view.

Room Tip: To have at quiet an interior room might be a possibility but there was still a lot of noise in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was with a group who stayed here for "Days of the Dead" last week, and the week was fabulous. I had stayed here 9 years ago, and I really like this hotel. Being on the zocolo (main town square) dead center in the middle of all the action during a major holiday period is a "Party Central" atmosphere. Yes, the hotel is old. However, I find the colonial buildings of Oaxaca quite charming. The lack of so-called amenities - spas, in-room Wi-Fi, etc. - is a plus. Let's face it: nobody goes to Oaxaca for an uber-metro scene. The hotel staff is warm and helpful, the rooms are clean, and yes, the bed is firm. If somebody absolutely has to be connected, there's an internet cafe on an adjacent side of the zocolo, and I had no problem calling the US. Food in the hotel's restaurant is very good, and so is the food in all the nearby restaurants. The hotel has put in new windows since the last time I stayed, a real plus when you stay in a room facing the zocolo, and there's a fiesta going on outside. That is, if you would rather sleep than join in!

Room Tip: Don't worry about water; there's purified water in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artsnob021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beds were hard as a rock

NO air conditioning, but a fan only

We had no internet for 3 days and partial internet on our other days. RIP off. We could get some internet in the lobby but noise from other guest and no privacy made this annoying.

we were given 3 access numbers for internet, but they didn't work

THe meals were OK, but are about 25% higher than other restaurants on the square for the identical thing!!! buyer beware.

Bathtub drained very slow....

There is a great amount of street noise and the fact that you need to keep windows open for air makes the noise even worse..........

I couldnt sleep on the hard beds. Hurt my shoulders. NO pillow top mattresses here. Americans will need aspirin after a night on these beds.

THe staff was unconcerned about our problems. THey had a roll a way but it was ancient and also uncomfortable.......

One more thing--NO CNN or English stations whatsoever. Old TVs , no flat screens here

Room Tip: NO room will have air conditioning......Lighting is poor and light switches are ridiculous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeanimaladvocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cantera Real
Hotel Cantera Real
#67 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#22 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#16 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques del Valle

Property: Hotel Marques del Valle
Address: Portal de Claveria S N Centro | P.O. Box 35, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marques del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Marques del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques Del Valle Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing