We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aitana
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Aitana for Day of the Dead. The room was clean and comfortable and not noisy. The room was a bit stuffy and there was no air-conditioning but we were not affected much since we were not in Oaxaca during the hot season. I'm not sure if fans were available but that would be nice. We appreciated the two computers available for our use since we had forgotten ours. There was no problem connecting to the internet. The breakfast was basic and adequate and food was available at other times if desired. The staff was very helpful in suggesting tours and going directions to museums, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edie108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    104
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
41
107
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located and has loads of charm. The inner courtyard and second floor roof garden are absolutely lovely. The rooms are simply furnished and spacious with ceiling fans and windows that open onto the courtyard. During our stay, the hotel was quiet. The breakfasts were good with multiple choices and the staff was friendly. They took good care of us. There were two computers we could use to check our email. I would not hesitate to recommend this to my friends.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room, they will try to help you find one you like better. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glassartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

So, let's start this review with one major inconvinience I run into courtesy of Bank of America and how Mario, the concierge saved the day. For some weird reason I was unable to get money out of the ATM on my departure day and I had zero cash to pay the taxi driver on my way to the airport. After trying every single ATM downtown at 5 am and running late to be in the airport, Mario the concierge saved the day. He charge my debit card (I don't know why it worked there but not at the ATM's) and gave me the cash to pay the taxi driver. For this I'm forever thankful, because I would lost my plane if it wasn't for his quick thinking. Besides that, he's an amazing concierge. Every other night he recommended good places to eat like the locals (ask him to point you to a "memelas" stand), things to do, where to shop to avoid overpaying for hand crafts and was a graceful host. The hotel is close to downtown, the price is all right, the breakfast is more than I expected and overall the people is friendly and accommodating. Yes the hotel is not a 5 star hotel, but you're not paying for an 5 starts so stop complaining. Best bang for your buck and excellent to adventure to the city by yourself.
Make sure you check out the terrace, you get an amazing view of the city. Nice to read a book, have a beer and just spend some chill time. Rooms by the courtyard can be a little noisy, but I wake up early anyways so I didn't bother (I didn't came to Oaxaca to oversleep! :D
If that's a problem, just ask for a room away from the courtyard. Santo Domingo is a must, as well as Monte Alban, Mitla and el Zocalo. Make sure you enjoy true mexican ice cream at "La Michoacana" and other delicious snacks sold around churches. And don't forget to try the crickets!!

Like I said this is not a luxury hotel but is clean, close to downtown and has some of the best service I ever had for the price. If you're picky don't be cheap, pay $180 a night and stay at other hotel. This was my 5 trip to Oaxaca and not my last, I love this place! Mario, if you read this, thank you!

Room Tip: If you have a light sleep get a room away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaudya39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Aitana. It's a bit out of the way, the was staff friendly, breakfast was good, and the price was right. Mario made us feel very welcome and helped us in many ways...including helping us to get a tour in English of the ethnobotanic gardens. I'm reading all of the other comments regarding the shower, I didn't think it was a big deal, but I guess if you really want to be pampered, or are looking for luxury, look elsewhere. If you want something that feels authentic, Aitana may be for you.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, if you'd like. We were on the second floor near the patio, noise was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This charming, cheap hotel is about 5, easily walkable, blocks from the center. It offers nice rooms with ceiling fan, which open to an inner courtyard. Unfortunately the hotel is on a narrow thoroughfare and although we didn't hear the quite heavy traffic in our room it takes a bit away from the charm. Also, the hotel has no parking but points you to a very expensive parking opposite (friendly and safe, though). All told, the hotel is not bad but we would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilango2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week.
Rooms were nice. However they all ae built around a centre courtyard (like many in Mexico) and the noise does echo a wee bit when people are talking, or walking around the common areas with a crying baby :)
Has a nice rooftop area with views towards the Zocalo.
Cleaning....a bit of hit and miss here. We stayed in room 212 and discovered the cleaners cupboard was across from us, so when they forgot to give us towels, toilet paper or soap etc, we just helped ourselves.
Breakfast...also a hit and miss. Was really nice, but sometimes there was toast, sometimes there was cereal, depends when you go down there I think.

Approx 10 mins walk from Zocalo so handy.

We paid $50 US a night so good value.

Good wifi and have a computer in the lobby for use if needed.

Agree with the previous comments....water from shower goes EVERYWHERE except where you need it. But still managed to wash my hair :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is OK but, apart from the women who served the food, the staff need an injection of enthusiasm as we never really felt welcome during our stay of 5 nights. In addition the bathroom could have done with a good scrub. I would go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#44 of 109 in Oaxaca
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aitana

Property: Hotel Aitana
Address: Calle Manuel Sabino Crespo 313, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aitana 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitana Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing