We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”
Review of Hotel Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Aitana
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable, friendly hotel with an international clientel and affordable prices, look into the Hotel Aitana. Large rooms (and bathrooms), free wifi, and a rooftop garden make the reasonable prices seem even better. If you are looking for a full-service hotel, this isn't the place. But, if you want a relaxing time in a more traditional hotel, I recommend the Aitana. Only drawback--a bit of a walk to the main attractions of Oaxaca (but that helps work off the great Oaxacan food). Can be just a bit noisy from traffic up front but the rooms are to the rear.

Room Tip: Try for a second floor room where your window opens over the courtyard instead of onto the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grayontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    106
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
107
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Human scale hotel with two floors. LOVELY view of Oaxaca from the second floor patio--a patio with deck chairs a table, reclining beach-type chairs, and pots and pots and pots of beautiful fresh bright flowers. Very relaxing, beautiful and spacious patio. Easy --and interesting) walk (about 9 blocks) to Zocalo. Easy walk to Santo Domingo church and La Soledad. Easy walk (10 blocks straight down the street) to take tours of surrounding areas (I paid $5.00 US--for a round trip van ride to Mt.Alban). The hotel itself has beautiful stone floors throughout--which are washed daily. Everything is clean. Our room has a 12 foot high ceiling which adds a touch of elegance--and a ceiling fan, which we used on occasion. The staff on the desk are extremely helpful in every way. The kitchen is open from breakfast straight through until 10:00pm. We purchased a room with the breakfast included--wonderful buffet every morning ( we were here 10 days around Christmas). Fresh fruit--at least three and usually 4 choices of fresh fruit, a buffet egg dish, warm vegetable dish, and delicious frijoles. There is always yogurt and often hot cakes, always cereal too. When Senora Juana is on duty, your coffee cup is always full! There is good water pressure in our room, and the mattresses are firm--just the way we like them. Over the week-end we walked across the street to catch a city bus to look around town. This is my first stay at the Hotel Aitana, and it won't be my last!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We just can't say enough, excellent Hotel Very good location and great value for your money. We spent 5 Days in Oaxaca, a magical place, a beautiful city with a very candid people.
Miguel Cortina & Family

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migcortina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The hotel is just right. Great price, good location, nice breakfast, clean room adequately appointed and friendly helpful staff. The hotel wasn't busy when we were there (Nov/Dec 2011) so the breakfast wasn't always a buffet. Instead it was made to order and just fine. I know people complain often about the included breakfasts but this one was just fine. Fresh fruit daily and lots of it. Eggs, beans, pancakes, toast, juice, coffee or tea, etc. The buffet was a bit more varied but all just fine. I think the staff will make whatever you want; just ask. Our room 211 was nice too. Mattress was rock solid but that's good for me. Some might not like the firmness. Bathroom was spacious, strong hot shower, vent, nice towels. Room could be noisy with window on atrium open and people in hallway. But it wasn't busy when we were there so not an issue. You might want to request a quiet room at end, away from activity area. I'd hate the rooms right on the first floor opening to the dining area - too public. Staff was very nice, spoke English enough. Room always cleaned nicely. Ceiling fan was super strong (only setting) and kinda loud. TV had lots of stations, several in English. Owner was especially helpful when we wanted a car for the weekend. Made all the arrangements and the cost was about $70 for the weekend. The car service delivered and picked up too. The owner of the hotel sat down with us and the car agent to review the paperwork and he also went outside to inspect the car with us and give instuctions on where the gas tank was, etc. I felt like he was really making sure everything was just right for us. Very very nice. It's on a fairly busy street that is a one way used by buses. We never heard traffic noise - rooms were all distant from street. The busses did belch out lots of pollution so walking on that street (Crispo) is not advised. It's on a slight hill so the pollution tended to flow up on the street I think. But again, not an issue inside the hotel (sealed off from the street). The hotel can arrange for parking right across the street for a mere 3.50usd/night too. Nice woman seems to own the home? hotel? apts? with large large parking area. Not advertised so it seems like it's special for the hotel. Quick walk to Zocolo (city square) about 6 blocks. Lots of shops and restaurants inbetween too. Solidad church very close too (patron saint of the city). 2 free computers and internet in the dining/common open area. Fast and easy. Also nice terrace on 2nd floor with lots of potted plants and nice views of neighborhood. Plenty of chairs, seemed rarely used. I did my yoga stretches up there before walking to the Zocolo for chocolate con leche every morning (.70 usd), then to the full breakfast. Consider a nice hike up to the planatarium reforestation area one morning. Stairs are just 2-3 blocks north lead up and up, past the newish big outdoor auditorium, past the planatarium on to walking trails (not really marked but just head up the trails to the top of hill for nice views and good exercise). Santo Domingo church is also very close, maybe 5 blocks. Price was very good too. We'd stayed at Camino Real on last visit - very luxurious but much more costly. Can't say we really felt anything was missing at Aitana. We'll go there again.

Room Tip: rooms right on the dining atrium open right onto the public space - ask for second floor or rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregoryngrinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We just spent seven nights at the Hotel Aitana during Dia de los Muertos and were very happy with our stay. The staff is the best and very helpful. This was our second time to stay at the Aitana in the last two years and in the future will continue to stay there. After a long day of sightseeing it is nice to grab a couple of cervezas from the kitchen and relax on the upstairs patio and get the gorgeous view of the city. The hotel is very close and in walking distance to everything in the city.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms at the back are quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Mc_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a short stay in this hotel before moving to a B & B. The service was great with lots of help is getting around the city. Room 210 was large, clean and full of charm. The patio is a big plus.

Room Tip: Room 210 was large, clean and full of charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottmcintire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We just returned from six nights at the Hotel Aitana over the Day of the Dead celebration and were very happy with the hotel accommodations, location and staff. The staff, including the manager Mario, were very helpful and accommodating and made our stay very pleasant. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, beans, etc. and special orders were gladly accepted. Fresh filtered water was always available in the courtyard for filling water bottles (very nice amenity!), the rooms were large and comfortable. The terrace on the third floor was a lovely place to relax with a great view of the city. The hotel is not on the zocalo, but it is very close to most places of interest, including the Santo Domingo Cathedral. I have been to Oaxaca many times and this is the first time at Hotel Aitana. It is good value and I would return again and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor, quieter and near the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blc-Artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 109 in Oaxaca
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parador Del Dominico
Parador Del Dominico
#30 of 109 in Oaxaca
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#33 of 109 in Oaxaca
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aitana

Property: Hotel Aitana
Address: Calle Manuel Sabino Crespo 313, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aitana 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitana Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing