We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, a bit pricy for what you get.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Francia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Francia
Ranked #98 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, a bit pricy for what you get.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

This was the first hotel our taxidriver took us to when we arrived in Oaxaca early in the morning. We payed about 600 pesos for one night there, and it included breakfast. We would normally not have taken a hotel in that price range but we were exhausted from the trip and wanted to sleep.
The service was great, location absolutely perfect, rooms were great. The only thing that was not so good was the breakfast, but that might be due to personal taste. I do feel that with the exception of the size of the lobby and the little stuff you get from the hotel (little soaps and towels) you could get the exact same thing two blocks away for about half the price.
This hotel should definately be acredited for its very warm welcome early in the morning however, I'm not sure I would not have felt like a bother in any other hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
9
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miranda, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

I didn't like this hotel, mainly due to the dimly lit rooms which were also quite hot. This meant you had to open the bedroom window where the traffic noise was unbearable - even with earplugs! Our room didn't even have a room number and seemed to be a temporary as the place was being renovated. Considering the money paid and what we received, I was disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oaxaca hotels

Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

Upon arriving to the hotel everything was great. We had the corner room overlooking the streets. It was a bit noisy but being from Seattle it didn't bother us. The hotel is within in walking distance of everything. We didn't have any problems with bugs and there was plenty of hot water. The staff was friendly enough and the hotel was clean. But when we planned on extending our stay the cost of the room was quite a bit more than when we reserved it. So we check out and went to another hotel down the block. The 2nd hotel we went to was quieter, cleaner, the staff was much more accomodating & less expensive (350 pesos per night). I would't stay here again just because there are better places to stay for less money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The price upon check out
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guera70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

I have stayed in the Hotel Francia 2 times already and I will be returning again in Oct. 2007 for Dia de Los Muertos for 8 days. This little hotel is the most centrally located and the most reasonably priced. I have been in the old hotel and back after renovations. I find the hotel quaint and the new renovations are beautiful. If you are looking for American conditions then stay at the Best Western. I am not fluent in Spanish but I have been able to get my needs met. I suggest that patience and manners carry you a long way. Remember that YOU are the guest in their country and YOU don't speak THIER language!

I always request a room away from the dining area so I am not bothered by the diners and the noise of the kitchen. The old side does not have windows out to the streets so it is quieter.

Water is a very precious commodity in Mexico - take brief showers! All water is delivered by truck to the cisterns. Don't waste it down the drains!

There are fabulous restaurants all over Oaxaca from humble to very sophisticated. Just ask! Very likely you will be escorted to where you are asking directions to. People are extreemly friendly and anxious for you to enjoy the beauty of their home.

Take the guided tours of the major sites and events of the area. You will be shown wonderful sites and the guides are all licensed and knowlegable. And they speak SEVERAL languages, not just english....

If you want to see Old Mexico then Oaxaca is the place to go. The people are modest and respectful. Public drunkeness is not tolerated. No wild night clubs. Lots of sidewalk dining and beautiful evening strolls. Almost daily there is a colorful street celebration. Parades are the norm! In the evenings there are free concerts in the zocolo and families gather to socialize. The town "goes home" after 10pm. It is a very safe place to walk and eat.

Go with a happy and respectful attitude and you will be rewarded with genuine friendliness and appreciation for your visit!

Paz!
Anne A.

  • Liked — Price and Location to the zocolo!
  • Disliked — I prefer a softer mattress.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank AnneASanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Francia our first two nights in Oaxaca. We chose the hotel based on price and location and were not disappointed on either. The hot water was a a problem--the shower temperature was completely hit or miss. The hotel was a bit loud, but nothing worse than other places in Oaxaca. The courtyard and restaurant are very nice. We really enjoyed our stay and would have no problem recommending the place to other budget-concious travelers. Make sure you try the hot chocolate place across the street!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank imryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2006

We had a room with no view with very poor water pressure in the shower. The hard beds bothered some people but not me. We were next to a seating area outside the rooms we heard people at night. I wake up early and the staff was not concerned about anything but my disturbing other guests. The lack of a frig was a concern and the staff does not speak English. We stayed at a great place in Mexico city for 45 a night but the Francia was only fair. It has a good location.In many respects the front desk staff was helpful and they recoommended a Guelaguetza show at the Mission de los Angeles Hotel which was very good.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shower , no frig , hot room no window
  • Tips/Secrets — only stay there if cost is a major concerni
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2006

First impression sent shivers down our spines: upon entry there is soimething very unpleasant about this place, it feels musty and dungeon-like. Despite information that it was recently renovated the hotel seemed very drab. Paint seemed fresh but everything else was not. All walls are painted white. Everything else is very old, included cracked floors, nasty faucets, filthy furniture etc. Well, we were just too tired to look elsewhere but I wish we did.

Shower was worst I ever had in Mexico - water pressure was so poor I could not rinse off soap.

The hotel is located on one of the busiest streets in town: 20 de Noviembre, made of stone blocks, maiking the driving cars sound like army tanks. The traffic never stops, it literally goes on all night and the street noise cannot be blacked out by industrial strength earplugs - we could not sleep at night for this and another reason: the room was very-very hot and the ceiling fan did nothing to cool it.

We asked for another room in the morning but it was even uglier: very dark without windows (facing the inner courtyard).

I saved the best for last: Hotel Francia is the first hotel we ever found COCKROACHES in in Mexico - my husband killed two, one on the table and another underneath it.

The posted price at the desk is 646 pesos for a double (about $60) but this hotel is not worth 20 bucks. Folks, there are beautiful hotels and better located charging less.

AVOID Hotel Francia. This place is so awful it should be dropped from guidebook listings. DH Lawrence or not, this place is a dump.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#18 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anua Oaxaca
Hotel Anua Oaxaca
#104 of 112 in Oaxaca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marques del Valle
Hotel Marques del Valle
#56 of 112 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
XTILU Hotel
XTILU Hotel
#31 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.0 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francia

Property: Hotel Francia
Address: Calle 20 de Noviembre 212, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Francia offers the best value in the market: we are clean, kind, cheap and well located. Hotel Francia is just one block from Zocalo and one block from the local market. We are right in the heart of Oaxaca city. Our building is a typical colonial Oaxac's style construction. And we have some experience in hospitality: Hotel Francia was opened in 1934. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Francia Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing