We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Hotel Gala Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gala Oaxaca
Ranked #72 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed March 20, 2007

My husband and I took our two youngest (6) and (3) and my mother in law (77). We figured one good night out without the kids while they spent time with their grandma. We arrived at the resort close to ten PM with two very tired, but excited boys. The resort put out additional food for our late arrival and off to bed we went. In the morning we awoke to the most beautiful sunrise, and the water and beaches were clean and WARM!! For the next 7 days we ate, drank, swam, jet skied, ate , drank, deep chartered for large turtles, shopped in town, ate, drank, and all while our kids begged to stay in the Kids Club!! My poor mother in law felt useless! She was forced to relax and shop, and eat, and drink! The staff was fantastic and took excellent care of our kids, who at times refused to eat dinner with us because they wanted to eat with Lorena! Adriana, and Lorena were fantastic, and I would do this trip again. The only room for improvement would be the buffet dinners, they were average at best. The Oxin in town was fantastic though. We miss Bahias de Huatulco, and Lorena!!

Stayed: January 2007
Thank Cattail63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2006

My wife and I ended up staying at this little gem after fleeing our original hotel. It was last minute so she ran out with a guidebook and pesos for the phone in hand while I attempted to check out. She ended up just walking into the Hotel Gala de Oaxaca due to its superb location. As it was last minute, our choices were somewhat limited as to room location but most important to us was the staff's willingness to work with us to make something happen.

We ended up taking a room with two double beds on the third floor. As other people have stated, there are no elevators in the hotel so the higher you go the further your walk. This honestly wasn't an issue for us as literally EVERY hotel we'd visited in Mexico had a similar setup (including the four star hotel in Zihuatanejo). By the time we hit Oaxaca, stairs were not an issue. If anything the stairs helped us work off all the rich food (and mezcal) we indulged ourselves in while there.

That being said, the location was fantastic. Every morning we would get up early and only have to turn a single corner to find ourselves amongst the bustling Zocala scene. This area of Oaxaca has a truly European feeling to it so sitting down to una molletta y espresso while planning out your day just felt civilized. Despite the location near one of the busiest areas of Oaxaca for foot traffic and people, most of the rooms at the hotel face inward on air shafts and other vents. This means you can leave you window open at night and still get a good rest. This is very important. Oaxaca is a thriving and bustling city so there is a LOT of noise on the street. If you're not used to living downtown in a mid-sized city you will find the noise bothersome.

Last but not least were the staff. While only one of the staff was fluent in English, everyone there was willing to work with our mediocre Spanish when trying to get some rather complex ideas across. Their recommendations and directions all panned out as being spot on for the right thing to do. Check in and our eventual check out were as smooth as I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing despite the unusual circumstances.

All in all I would recommend the Hotel Gala if you're looking for an economical alternative to the pricey hotels around the Zocala. You won't find something uniquely Mexican (except when it suddenly dawns on you all the art being displayed is original) but it's clean, quiet, efficient, and definitely friendly. For my wife and I, we use a hotel as a place to sleep and start our vacation so it was perfect for our needs. If you're looking for luxury, floor shows, and fine dining you'll obviously want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kowboy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
16
Reviewed December 27, 2004

I stayed at the Hotel Gala during the Christmas period 2004. The hotel is in a perfect location right on the southwest corner of the Zocala and it is not expensive. However, despite their advertisements staff speak very little English and as previous posters have said, are quite unhelpful. The hotel although clean, totally lacks any atmosphere which was quite different from most other hotels and B&B's in the city. They do not have any laundry facilities and were not able to offer safety box either. Beds are hard as others have said but not problematically so. The majority of rooms are interior and open onto internal corridors which make it incredibly noisy as every footstep and conversation is heard as though it was in your room. I would definitely go back to Oaxaca but I would not stay at The Gala.

Everyone should try and experience Christmas in Oaxaca at least once - the Night of The Radishes and the Christmas Eve Posadas are just wonderful and I think it is the only place left where Christmas is celebrated without any hint of commercialism and virtually no evidence even of Santa Claus. It was a joy.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mexico, City
17
Reviewed March 6, 2004

We stayed at Gala Hotel last weekend. Hotel was indeed clean and staff corteous. But, few rooms have a window to the street, must of them have windows to an inner corridor wich means few light and ventilation. We were given one of those but ask for a change (you can really become claustrophobic). No elevator, so if you are on the second floor, you must have an excelent condition. The price on the room is preety much "what you pay is what you get". Excellent location.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, WA
115
Reviewed February 22, 2004

Three of us stayed in a junior suite at the Hotel Gala for 8 nights in February 2004. The cost was more than we would've paid in some other hotels ($113 per night including tax for 3 beds and 3 adults), but after having been there for a couple of days, we felt it was worth the price. Hotel Gala sits off the SE corner of the zocalo, which is where all the action is. There was only one time we required a cab; most everything was available by foot.The hotel was very clean and quite tasteful. The room was simple, but also clean. The desk staff (all bilingual) was very courteous, respectful and friendly. The hotel felt very safe; the front gate to the foyer was locked with a chain and padlock at night and opened only when a guest arrived or departed.The cafe attached to the hotel had excellent food and very reasonable prices.There is only a couple of downsides of Hotel Gala. The hotel is mostly tile, granite and marble with halls that echo. Footsteps and voices were easily heard late at night and early in the morning. Protestors in the zocalo could be heard over their loudspeakers. However, we chose to be in the "thick of things" so it was okay for us, but others might not appreciate the disturbance. Also, the beds are fairly hard, but I learned that is common in Mexico because boxed springs are not generally used. The pillows were hard and feathered.But, like real estate, it's about location, location, location. If I went back to Oaxaca next year, I'd stay at Hotel Gala.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Excelente ubicación
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kamila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#36 of 108 in Oaxaca
194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Arnel
Hotel Casa Arnel
#50 of 108 in Oaxaca
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#18 of 108 in Oaxaca
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa de Leon
Hotel Villa de Leon
#93 of 108 in Oaxaca
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cue
Hotel Casa Cue
#99 of 108 in Oaxaca
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camba
Hotel Camba
#44 of 108 in Oaxaca
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gala Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gala Oaxaca

Address: Calle Bustamante No. 103, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: $24 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gala Oaxaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gala Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gala Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing