We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Benito Juarez Home (Casa de Benito Juarez)
Ranked #43 of 118 things to do in Oaxaca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small house was the home of legendary Mexican President Benito Juarez for ten years during his childhood.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Interesting to see the house where Benito Juarez grew up. There is some information about his childhood and early years. Its very small and there´s only a few rooms so not very impressive but still worth a visit even if just because its located in the center very near the Cathedral. Also entrance is free or donation which is nice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Almighty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    16
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It was interesting”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I don't know what I was expecting. The small building had a couple of items from his early life. It seemed like a strange location in the middle of the square. Perhaps they moved it here from another part of town or the countryside, but it hit me like a "dis-connect". Something seemed "off" to me.

Helpful?
1 Thank atriportwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“give it a pass”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a dull museum with furniture and artifacts that "reflected" the period but weren't authentic. I love history, but even I would avoid this one.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovakia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“native president”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We only see singboard from the path of street. Benito Juarez stayed there
like younger boy. After he was first native president of Mexico. The home
is located very close to Oaxaca hotel,.on the left side, on opposite
direction to Zocalo. Inconspicuous home, one of many in the street. Small
singboard on the wall warn visitors only.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank milankov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intimate and revealing”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

It's amazing how well preserved the few artifacts of his life are in this small house. You get to see his bedroom, his kitchen and dining room, and the book-binding work he did. A small garden with a water fountain center the house, where you are free to enter each "room" comprised of different articles from his day. We paid 40 pesos (roughly 4 dollars) to enter. Sidenote: I don't know if it's usually there, but toward the back of the house there was a photography exhibit of Baja California art.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank monicaleticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benito Juarez Home (Casa de Benito Juarez) also viewed

 

Been to Benito Juarez Home (Casa de Benito Juarez)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing