We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Nearby Hotels
$158
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Azucenas(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Parador Del Dominico(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
$42
$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$47
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Del Marquesado(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
$63
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveler rating
303
174
73
34
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
174
73
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexterior roomformer conventbeautiful hotelpool areabreakfast buffethistoric buildingmini barlarge hotelsmall windowfive star hotelpublic areasrooms are smallper daygreat poolfacing the streetno elevatorlocation is excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 600 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Located in a former convent, this hotel has a lot of caché. Rooms are decently sized and confortable. The first room I stayed in was noisy because it was facing the street but then I got changed.

There is a small pool which is not very shallow.

Great buffet breakfast. Staff is helpful.

Book in advance as this seems to fill up quickly with wedding parties and other groups coming for events.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CritiqueCandide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

The Camino Real exceeded all expectations. Well located, just a couple of blocks from the Zocalo, and centrally located in the town. Every time we walked the grounds we found something new, another garden or room with a display. Extremely comfortable beds, wonderful and helpful staff. Didn't matter who we asked, from groundskeeper to maids to front desk they were always willing to take the time to answer questions or snap a picture of us. We loved this hotel and will stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carneymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Communal areas and the look and feel live up to the promise, but there is a risk of getting a noisy room, i.e. street side (North?). The price paid for these (around Easter) is far too high to justify the price. You don't get a lot of space for the price either. I was not happy about paying extra fro parking and the water in the room. That's not standard in Mexico.

Given that they were pretty full at the time of my visit, after a night without sleep they couldn't offer me another room. I moved on to Casa Oaxaca, which is very nice for solo travellers and couples!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spielkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We loved the camino real. it was absolutely magnificent. beaufitul hotel, great rooms and the absolutely magnificent breakfast. make sure you include with your plan. Thy have everything you could possibily want, cappucinos, hot chocolate, eggs anyway you want the, etc.

The only issue we had was noisy rooms, which is an issue with most hotels in Oaxaca. Make sure you get an indoor room and not near the kitchen.

everything else was great.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mari51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

The Camino Real is a spectacular hotel. The rooms are arranged around several gorgeous courtyards that are overflowing with beautiful tropical flowers. The pool and deck are lovely. The ambiance is soothing and rich. The building is an old convent that has been wonderfully restored.
The room was very attractive and comfortable. Our housekeeper was helpful in making it just right.
We attended the biweekly dinner and evening of folk dancers from all over the Oaxaca province. This was a great spectacle and the meal was good.
The location of the hotel is perfect. It's an easy walk to the zocalo and the little side streets around Santo Domingo became our favorites.
The Camino Real is pricy but we were able to get a rate much below the average shown. To help make our trip less costly, we stayed at the CR 3 nights then moved to a much less expensive and equally pleasant bed and breakfast that was within two blocks of the CR--Casa de las Bugambilias.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews