We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed during easter at the QUinta Real Oaxaca, which is located in an old Spanish Convent, THe building is very well mantained in general with pretty central gardens. The bathrooms need an upgrade, The best thing is the central location that permits you to walk to most things downtown. THe breakfast buffet is good. THe only incident we had is when we arrived we could not get the rooms we had reserved, a family of four, they put our rooms very far away which made it difficult to enjoy... THe attitude of Mr. J form the reception was very arrogant as well. The rest of the employees there were very nice...

Room Tip: Ask for INSIDE rooms as the others are very noisy since they have windows to the streets. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavoatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    147
    70
    32
    14
See reviews for
121
198
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights over Easter. Great position and the courtyards and buildings very atmospheric. The owners need to visit other restored heritage properties around the world to see what others provide for this price. It is generally a bit run down and tired. Service very patchy. Paid extra for an internally facing room as we were told the external ones can be noisy. As mine turned out to be overlooking the pool it was certainly noisy during the day! Room satisfactory. Breakfasts mediocre compared to other hotels in Mexico we have stayed in. Don't know if this is the best in Oaxaca but its certainly the most expensive. Oaxaca itself is charming and a delight to visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LCH857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in March. Identified as the second convent in New Spain, built in the 16th century, the hotel served as a school, movie theater and prison before being renovated for tourism in the 1970s. The building deserves its reputation for being beautiful, and the landscaping is fantastic. Our room was rather small, but perfectly pleasant, very clean, and well appointed. I thought our small window was fused shut, but when I asked if there were rooms with windows that open, the desk clerk assured me that they all open and sent someone up to demonstrate. The outside rooms have some street noise, but it seemed very modest. Other rooms probably had better light with larger windows.
There is no elevator, so second floor rooms involve stairs, some of them pretty steep...good practice for Monte Alban...
The pool is beautiful, the pool bar is very pleasant. Breakfast is varied and should serve anyone's taste, although they are not always ready by 7 a.m., more like 7:20. When I mentioned that the chilaquiles were missing, they rushed to get them out.
The Quinta Real is in an excellent location, just a few blocks from the zocalo and about 2 from Santo Domingo.
My one huge disappointment was the lack of free wifi anywhere in the hotel, an unprecedented inconvenience. 139 pesos for 24 hours.
The hotel staff helped us with all our needs and were quick with suggestions for good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutofKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a very well maintained colonial religous building in a very centric site. Actually most attractions in Oaxaca are well within walking distance.
The only bad thing is that if you want WiFi in your room you have to pay for it! Hotel managers should get by now the idea that free Wi Fi is pretty much a necessesity like hot water! One should not have to pay extra for it, especially not in such a good hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciscoKuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were big fans of this property before this last visit and not sure we'll return next time since there are more options. Our room was average and quiet, next to a beautiful courtyard. We could not believe when we say them set up for a banquet on the lawn RIGHT outside of all the rooms in that corridor. The fiesta started at 9:30 and was NOISY, finally ending at 1AM. The front desk was oblivious to our calls. This is a huge property and there are lots of alternative locations for this kind of a banquet so this was an example of truly incompetent planning. To add salt to the wound, we asked for a wake-up call the next morning at 5:30 AM to catch our flight - we got a call at 4:30 AM!!! Argghhh@#!$! They were indifferent to our complaints the next morning - we left a long letter for the manager thinking we'd hear something. TOTAL silence. It's a shame since it's a beautiful setting but likely our last time there

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mccseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

(Now known as the Quinta Real Oaxaca.) Don't get me wrong. The facilities are immaculate and genuine. Everywhere there's a historic patina that even the most highly-paid Disney technologist would be hard pressed to reproduce. If it's a visual feast you seek, and related ambience, this hotel will deliver for you in spades. If you're looking for pampering service that anticipates your every stress, avocado wraps, heel clicking table-side service, spotless white linen table cloths set with glistening stuff, and your Italian sommelier -- fuggedaboutit. But wait a second .. this is .. Oaxaca ... isn't it?

The restaurant was very nice and offered excellent authentic local fare. The waiter staff seemed a tad stretched. Our bedrooms and bathrooms were thoroughly scrubbed and cleansed to perfection every day. The pool area was excellent with attendants keeping an eagle eye to see that towels, umbrellas and what-not were quickly at hand.

You do want to select a room that opens into the interior courtyards as the streets are noisy. Quibble department -- our room (the King Carlos suite) could have had better lighting fixtures. But ... it was a monastery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disappskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we spent 4 nights in this hotel which is changing its name to the Quinta Real. Because it is located in an old convent, there are no exterior windows making the room dark. There is a small window that opens onto the interior courtyard. The room contained 2 beds, an chest of drawers, and a tv cabinet but no chair. The bathroom was small but adequate but had an odor problem. There were 2 drains in the floor that emitted a foul odor- when we complained they fixed it. However we do not expect this kind of a problem in a hotel of this caliber. There is no elevator and the stairs are steep and uneven; it is an ancient building.
The courtyard outside our room was beautiful with lots of pots of flowers. Breakfast is not included; recommend eating off the menu, the buffet is not worth the money.
i recommend that your tour the building, but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aconitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#16 of 109 in Oaxaca
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Property: Quinta Real Oaxaca
Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quinta Real Oaxaca you can enjoy Los Naranjos Garden Los Lavaderos Garden Swimming pool El Refectorio Restaurant. From 07:00 -22:30 hrs. Las Novicias Bar. Monday- Saturday from 17:00 - 00:00 hrs. Sunday from 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. Swimming pool everyday From 08:00 - 20:00 hrs Acentua que actividades se pueden hacer cerca del hotel I you rent a car or travel in taxi, you can do this activities: Monte Alban (Zona Arqueologica)20 min. By car. Mitla (Zona Arqueologica)45 min. By car. Arbol del Tule (Arbol Milenario)20 min. By car. Hierve El Agua (Cascadas Petrificadas)1 hora con 30 min. By car. Teotitlan del Valle (Tapetes de lana)35 min. By car. San Bartolo Coyotepec (Barro Negro)20 min. By car. • Distancia que pueden hacer caminando (walking distance) Visitar el Zocalo de la Cuidad. 300 Mts. (984 Ft) Caminar Sobre el Andador Turistico. 70 Mts.(229 Ft) Visitar Catedral de la cuidad. 300 Mts.(984 Ft) Mercado 20 de Noviembre. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Mercado Benito Juarez. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Santo Domingo church. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) Etnobotanico Garden. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing