We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I spent five days at the La Quinta Real, over Christmas 2012. The Camino Real chain has been bought by the La Quinta group, which may account for our discontent. Our room, which was very expensive, was small and when we requested another choice we were shown to a larger room without a window. The front desk staff was not helpful in any way. Our wake up call the day of our departure was one hour late, which caused us to almost miss our flight. Their Internet charges are high and the business center closes early. My husband developed serious food poisoning after eating breakfast in their dining room. When we brought it to their attention, there was no offer to adjust the bill. All in all an expensive and unsatisfactory experience. They present themselves as five star but they are not at that level at this time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorZ_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    141
    69
    32
    14
See reviews for
112
192
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The setting is beautiful , an old convent. The service is excellent . Only average food stops it from being a great hotel. Breakfast and lunch by the pool didn't reflect any of the flavours of the local cuisine .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We've been going to this hotel for 17 years and even with the recent change of name to the Quinta Real the quality of service and facilities remains unchanged. It's also wonderful to see all the brides that come to have their photos taken . An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pussintaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walchwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice setting, good location, decent rooms ( some can be a bit noisy), personnel performing their duties as required but nothing more, pool area picturesque but pool very old. Overall an average hotel experience. No pezzaz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellbraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Camino Real (now Quintana Real) in December for 7 nights through Christmas 2012. It was our 5th stay at this property in 17 years and every time it continues to delight us.

We had a ground floor exterior room this time on the corridoor to the nun's washery (previously always on the first floor) and had a great room with a fabulous ambience and feeling of history. We have no hearing difficulties at all and were never disturbed by the continuous flow of incredible bridal dresses and young kids - rather it just added to the excellent feel and history of the property.

The staff again were very friendly and keen to assist at all times.

Even being there for the fabulous Radish Festival and Christmas did not add to the noise in any discernible way.

We recommend this site very highly and one not to be missed in getting a feeling for the spirit of Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms with double glazing on the Santo Domingo side are quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pussinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked this hotel 6 months prior to arriving, since we expected the hotel to be busy our Christmas stay in Oaxaca. Since then, Quinte Real has acquired this hotel.

The hotel itself is a beautifully restored convent with five interior courtyards. Being a convent, the rooms have high ceilings, white walls, dark wood and terra cotta floors, and the rooms we stayed in and saw were very clean.

Initially, we stayed in an interior room on the ground floor with a window facing out onto the "laundry" (lavanderie) fountain. This room was a little small and had a queen sized bed, but it was a little noisy as one wall of the room was adjacent to the hallway where the kitchen was.

We were then moved into an interior room on the second floor in a different courtyard. This room was a little larger with a king sized bed and a larger bathroom, but the only window to the room was on the door itself; rather, the door contained windows and shutters, and you could loosely close the window and shutters with two doors on the door itself. This courtyard was extremely noisy from 5am until late into the night, and we found out that this courtyard was actually the receiving area for the kitchen! You could also smell the kitchen smells all the time from this room.

Our friends stayed in an exterior room on the ground floor and we saw that the hotel had added an additional set of sturdy windows in these rooms. These exterior rooms may actually be quieter now than the interior rooms!

In general, given the high prices for interior rooms at this hotel, I would not recommend this hotel based on the lack of value and sleep quality. The hotel itself is beautiful, but it may be worth just visiting as one of attractions in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TY99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Camino Real or as well Quinta Real is lovely located only one and a half blocks away from the gorgeous church San Domingo. The site is beautiful. Each time we go to the south of Mexico, we stay one night in Oaxaca and never regret to spend an evening and night at the gourmet temple of Mexico.

This time we chose Quinta Real as I knew the hotel from a former business trip. This time however, we were a little bit disappointed on the size of the room. We stayed at a normal two bed room and it was well equipped but very small. We went out for dinner. Next morning we had breakfast at the hotel and it was very nice - but nothing special. Service was friendly but slow, so in the end, we expected a bit more for a five star hotel.

Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay very much due to the great location. Else, be aware of the missing parking possibilities and no valet parking offered at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoViva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 113 in Oaxaca
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 113 in Oaxaca
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#7 of 113 in Oaxaca
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Property: Quinta Real Oaxaca
Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quinta Real Oaxaca you can enjoy Los Naranjos Garden Los Lavaderos Garden Swimming pool El Refectorio Restaurant. From 07:00 -22:30 hrs. Las Novicias Bar. Monday- Saturday from 17:00 - 00:00 hrs. Sunday from 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. Swimming pool everyday From 08:00 - 20:00 hrs Acentua que actividades se pueden hacer cerca del hotel I you rent a car or travel in taxi, you can do this activities: Monte Alban (Zona Arqueologica)20 min. By car. Mitla (Zona Arqueologica)45 min. By car. Arbol del Tule (Arbol Milenario)20 min. By car. Hierve El Agua (Cascadas Petrificadas)1 hora con 30 min. By car. Teotitlan del Valle (Tapetes de lana)35 min. By car. San Bartolo Coyotepec (Barro Negro)20 min. By car. • Distancia que pueden hacer caminando (walking distance) Visitar el Zocalo de la Cuidad. 300 Mts. (984 Ft) Caminar Sobre el Andador Turistico. 70 Mts.(229 Ft) Visitar Catedral de la cuidad. 300 Mts.(984 Ft) Mercado 20 de Noviembre. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Mercado Benito Juarez. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Santo Domingo church. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) Etnobotanico Garden. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing