We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel setting is absolutely gorgeous. When we first arrived, we had breakfast in the garden serenaded by a mariachi band. It was lovely. The breakfast buffet on Sunday was very good. We stayed in a family room - i.e. two double beds - as we have young kids and whilst the room was comfortable it was very small. Aside from breakfast, food in the restaurant was not very good so I would definitely recommend venturing out to eat for lunch and at night. Service was friendly but slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    116
    63
    30
    13
See reviews for
101
159
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Last time around Oaxaca we did Casa de Oaxaca ... a wonderful boutique hotel.
In our exploration of the historic centre we stumbled into the Convento and we in awe
of the architecture. My wife and I said if we return then we should stay here and we did
for 4 nights. Expensive but the same price as the wonderfully mentioned previous hotel
and the room for a 17th century building are exactly as expected so not a complaint.

But the atmosphere, the aura, the feeling ... and the Mexicans agree as ever 15 year old
princess was dragged in their for photos and the wedding hall ... our friends daughter told her
dad that this was the stop for her wedding.

The courts, the hallways, the hall of history, the stencilling ... a joy with each passage.

And the dining room was on par with our Venice hotel 2 years ago (Room With A View movie location) .... stunning.
We loved eating our great breakfast everyday in this room.

So what does one expect for a room in a 17th century building?!?
I was there for the ambience and that is what I received in Aces.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoelJefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisville, utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a great hotel. We stayed here in Oct 2012 .This is a unique hotel that was originally built as a convent. Convenient, clean, comfortable rooms. I do not rent cars in other countries so parking is not an issue. The staff throughout the hotel were great to deal with, speaking English. Someone else's review of this hotel is NOT the experience that we had here, just the opposite. The resturant had great food. The outer rooms have street noise but it doesn't go on all night. The Friday night dinner show is not to be missed and to wander the halls to see the different courtyards is worth spending some time doing also. Read the blue sign out front on the sidewalk that tells the history of the convent. I highly recommend this hotel. It's a good base for seeing the sights around Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are quieter if you are not going to the dinner shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearce71592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great property. Good service. Slow internet. Breakfast was delicious. We attended a great event/dinner in a fantastic hall. Great hotel to go with a corporate group or with your spouse. Location is perfect. No parking is too bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andeantripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I just returned from five nights at the Camino Real in Oaxaca and we loved it. We splurged for a Jr Suite because it was our 25th anniversary and we have no regrets. We had no problem with noise, but we requested an interior room. There were some renovations in the lobby while we were there, and there was a wedding, but we were bothered by neither.

The staff was amazing - every one of them. We especially enjoyed Pedro in the bar and our housekeeper Arianna.

The food at the hotel was some of the best we had in Oaxaca. Unbelievable breakfast every day. It's chilly at breakfast, but I don't often get to eat outside in a restored convent in a beautiful garden!

We've been to Mexico several times, and love all of the places we've visited there, but Oaxaca was a standout. I took a cooking class in Spanish with a wonderful local woman that was one of my favorite travel experiences ever (contact me at padham@knoxpeds.com in you want info).

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: inside corridor
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pattya557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Camino Real is a beautifully refurbished historical building, well located near the main walk street, cathedral, and plenty of restaurants. The food is not bad, service is OK. The rooms are Spartan for such an expensive hotel, and mine (on the ground floor on the street) was very noisy. Internet is not great and very expensive, and bottled water is not free (but can be bought one block away). I give the grounds five stars and the rest three, so an average of four.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ichiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

When you first arrive at the Camino Real Oaxaca you feel confident that you're perfectly located for the days to follow, however if you decide to drive then be aware that the hotel does not offer any parking. We were given a list of car parks nearby and the additional cost is approximately $MX160 daily. The hotel reception were quick to recommend the most expensive site.

Rooms are small with some looking out onto the road so be sure to request a room that looks out to the interior of the property. Water is provided on the first night, but after that you have to pay which for a 5 star hotel is truly bad form. Their website seduces you with a free cocktail hour, but this only applies to the higher rated rooms. Please note our room was not at a discounted rate.

The pool area is pretty, but be warned, the water is NOT heated! No action was taken when we asked the staff about the extremely cold temperature of the water. It was impossible to relax due to repair work and conference set up that was happening in the large banquet room that sits adjacent to the pool area. Drilling, hammering and loud conversation commenced from 10am.

Check with reception if they have any scheduled conferences or weddings during your preferred hotel dates. On our final morning (Saturday) we woke up to the noise of marque preparations that were being set up literally outside of our room on the lawn. Nothing was mentioned from the front desk at the time of booking or as a courtesy the night before.

The breakfast has enough choice and the staff really do ensure the guest has everything they may need. However, on our last morning we were rushed through our breakfast in order to accommodate a large party of guests. DO NOT opt for the bed and breakfast rate as it is cheaper to add on breakfast once you're at the hotel. BTW- take a sweater to breakfast as ALL tables sit in the shade which makes it very cold.

There are plenty of charming hotels in Oaxaca and my advise would be to look elsewhere, you can always take the free tour of the Camino Real if you are interested in the history of this old convent. Surely it's better to save your money and spend it enjoying yourself in the Centro Historico with all the Oaxacan delights it has offer?

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room to avoid looking out onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DamienLee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#10 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#9 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Property: Quinta Real Oaxaca
Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quinta Real Oaxaca you can enjoy Los Naranjos Garden Los Lavaderos Garden Swimming pool El Refectorio Restaurant. From 07:00 -22:30 hrs. Las Novicias Bar. Monday- Saturday from 17:00 - 00:00 hrs. Sunday from 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. Swimming pool everyday From 08:00 - 20:00 hrs Acentua que actividades se pueden hacer cerca del hotel I you rent a car or travel in taxi, you can do this activities: Monte Alban (Zona Arqueologica)20 min. By car. Mitla (Zona Arqueologica)45 min. By car. Arbol del Tule (Arbol Milenario)20 min. By car. Hierve El Agua (Cascadas Petrificadas)1 hora con 30 min. By car. Teotitlan del Valle (Tapetes de lana)35 min. By car. San Bartolo Coyotepec (Barro Negro)20 min. By car. • Distancia que pueden hacer caminando (walking distance) Visitar el Zocalo de la Cuidad. 300 Mts. (984 Ft) Caminar Sobre el Andador Turistico. 70 Mts.(229 Ft) Visitar Catedral de la cuidad. 300 Mts.(984 Ft) Mercado 20 de Noviembre. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Mercado Benito Juarez. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Santo Domingo church. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) Etnobotanico Garden. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing