We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great spot to stay in oaxaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great spot to stay in oaxaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We love this hotel. We stayed there a couple of years ago, and decided to do so again. We were not disappointed. Beautiful, charming property. Clean, comfortable rooms. (We do get the inside rooms.) The pool is lovely, and the location is terrific. It is pricey compared to other Oaxaca hotels, so we spend half our time here, and half at the Holiday Inn, which is also nice, though without the charm and location. We will go back to both!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    117
    63
    30
    13
See reviews for
101
162
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a wonderful time in Oax. The people are genuinely nice and there's so much history and delicious food. My husband and I stayed in the Camino Real and had a very good experience. Our room was exactly how I imagined it the photos on the web don't lie. The staff is super nice and the bed is very comfortable. Room service was very nice we stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our stayed. The location is perfect we could walk to downtown and enjoy the setting of this beautiful town. We are already planning our next trip to Oax.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The building the Camino Real Oaxaca is located in, is beautiful. One can easily imagine nuns/priests in prayer and meditation in the day they used the building as a convent. The location is stellar to the nearby shops and galleries. The restaurant has good food and a charming wait staff. None of this, however, makes up for the downfalls of staying there.

We stayed eight nights at the Camino Real Oaxaca, room 259, inside room with a private patio. $340/night. We thought we were making the reservation directly with the hotel, but learned we actually made it with Zapotel AFTER the fact. At check in, they made us prove we had prepaid for the eight nights by forwarding an e-mail of the confirmation of payment. Insulting and offensive. By managing their accounting and relations with the companies they work with competently, they could avoid offending new guests immediately upon arrival. We will not return to this Camino Real, nor will we stay at any other Camino Real Resort after this experience.

Camino Real Oaxaca claims to be a five star hotel. In order to be a five star hotel, you need to conform to the standards listed here (and elsewhere): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotel_rating . Of this list, Camino Real Oaxaca does not have: multilingual staff {the staff knew basic English, but every question we asked that went beyond basic English was met with a blank look in their eyes and/or an action which dictated obvious misunderstanding}, personalized greeting {our greeting was not welcoming. No smile, nothing congenial at all. The reception staff needs professional training in how to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere and to sincerely smile}, There is a mini bar in the room, however, it is very limited on snack items {exactly two in our mini bar each day and we were a family of three. Prices were high- that is standard in the best hotels, which this hotel advertises itself as, but is not so there is no justification for exorbitant prices}, Internet should be included in the price of the stay, Camino Real charges $11 US a day, a price we paid in order to receive emergency messages, but clearly overpriced.. and... it is only for one wireless device {we are a family of multiple wireless devices as we live in the modern age. Simply by raising their room rate by $10 on every room rented, whether the guest uses internet or not, and including wireless internet for as many devices as the guest and family might have, they could make money and have happy guests. $10 a night will not bother the type of clientele this hotel is trying to attract. Nickel and diming them will.} By the aforementioned rating, if a client has an exceptional visit, the highest rating they could receive is a {stretched} four star rating.

Our visit was not exceptional. This hotel appears to make its money off of weddings or other types of parties. The reception staff gives the impression that hotel guests are an annoyance they need to put up with. They allow extreme noise until the wee hours of the morning which permeates every wall of the remodeled convent. Firecrackers are apparently the way the Oaxacan people celebrate anything, at any time of the day or night. Of the eight nights at $340 US/night, we were only able to sleep through the night once. I see others stated they could hear traffic noise- we could not- I guess each room has it's own personalized noise. As the reception staff was cold and indifferent, we chose to spend as much time away from the room and use it only for sleeping instead of complaining to the staff. This hotel was simply not worth our time.

On our reservation, we requested a king size bed with pullout sofa or rollaway for our daughter. We received two full size beds that were extraordinarily firm (aka cheap). I need a quality bed because of back problems.. but if you have back issues such as mine and purposely stay at five star hotels to get a luxury bed to sleep on, this is not the hotel for you. On top of this, we were bitten during the night. Since we never saw mosquitoes or flies in the rooms like we did in the restaurant, we could only assume the hotel has a bed bug infestation which was not a welcome thing to say the least.

The bathroom in the room left much to be desired. No pride was taken in the remodel to make the tile work look good or the grouting. It appeared to be done very quickly and gave one the feeling of the bathroom being dirty simply because it was done in such a low quality. Ventilation is poor, I am sure due to the fact the building was not built to be a hotel. The geckos in the room were a cute touch.

TV reception went out while we were there, but was fixed immediately upon reporting.

Be sure to use the do not disturb sign if you want to sleep in. Twice the cleaning staff woke us up by coming in while we were sleeping (once at 9 am, once at 9:30 am, different days.. far too early to be barging into client's rooms).

Amenities are dulled out extremely frugally. For our family of three, they left us one tiny shampoo and one tiny conditioner every other day.

The pool was beautiful, we did not swim.

Communication was very poor throughout the hotel staff. On our last day in Oaxaca, we noticed a delightful painting in the restaurant. We asked if it was for sale, they said yes, and found out how much. We then asked if we could put it on our room or credit card because we no longer had 3000 pesos due to our leaving in the morning. The waiter went and asked, came back and said "yes!", my husband gave him a credit card to confirm. He returned in five minutes telling us we could only buy it in pesos. This is what I mean by the staff only knows basic English. Communications like this happened many times where it was obvious they did not understand what was being said, but said they did, then proved they did not. (I will assume this because the only other assumption is complete incompetence) I never expect anyone in foreign countries to know anything but their native language. I do, however, expect a hotel that advertises itself as an international resort to have people fluent in at least the main languages of the world.

We contemplated leaving the hotel on after the second night we spent there and flying home early. We had, however, been referred to a fantastic tour guide, Juan Montes-Lara, whom we loved and he was the reason we stayed in Oaxaca for the extent of our trip. He was able to show us that our experience at the Camino Real was not typical of Oaxaca. The rest of our experience there was stellar. Warm, lovely people, beautiful handicrafts and a rich history to be learned about. An amazing place which is a must visit, just stay at a different hotel.

Room Tip: No room is quiet when any type of celebration is being held. Bring earplugs. Bring insect repellan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ErinM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is a renovated ex-hacienda with a lot of history, beautiful gardens and great rooms. Personnel is incredible kind and helpful. The food goes from classic international to typical dishes from the region; there is also a small bar by the pool very quiet and relaxing. The hotel also has a Guelaguetza show every Friday night. I was extremely pleased to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms located downstairs have a good view of the street, but can be really noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaManzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent 6 nights in the beautiful serenity of this converted convent. Initially we weren't sure when we pulled up outside this hotel but the minute we stepped through the doorway we were immediately impressed by the atmosphere. Our room was large, comfortable and situated upstairs overlooking the inside courtyard ensuring a quiet night. We had requested an inside room to avoid any street noise. We spent time wandering around the property taking in its history and ambience; taking as many photos around the property as we took in the streets of Oaxaca. The hotel is ideally situated for walking and exploring Oaxaca. The pool is yet another oasis of quiet and we did spend time sitting by the pool recharging our batteries. We had breakfast included and the breakfasts were generous and interesting. We found the staff, especially the restaurant staff to be friendly and attentive. We also enjoyed the different musical groups that played Mexican music as they wandered the courtyard and restaurant area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Although we have stayed at the camino real oaxaca before we didn't write a review partly because most of the comments (extra charge for wifi etc) are below. However we recently had our civil ceremony there and it was amazing. For anyone looking for a unique and special wedding ceremony this is the place.

The staff were impeccable, in particular Yunnan Hernández who was also very attentive when we saw her, flexible and accommodating. We also chose the package of the calendar, wedding parade which was great value for money and the guests really appreciated it - thank you Yunnan

Room Tip: great wedding venue for non religious ceremonies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oax050512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Apr 17th and 18th, 2012. Check in was fast and efficient. The gentleman at the desk set us up with a map highlighted all the sites we came to see. All other staff interaction were friendly, but once checked in the front desk staff did not really want to be bothered with us. The setting of the hotel, however is totally worth it. Set in a convent built in 1576, it has this hushed and kind of magical feel. We loved that. The restaurant is excellent! Besides the quality of the food- it is so nice to take meals or coffee in this beautiful courtyard. Not to be missed. Rooms small but really nice. They placed us on the street so we had horrible sleeps for both nights we were there. (traffic on cobblestone streets is a nightmare) It is a huge regret that we did not get a better room. Tried to make a change, but as I mentioned the front desk staff were not helpful. Anyway, the property is so worth it- just get a courtyard room and it will be blissful. The hotel is on the better end of town, so everything is in walking distance. The shopping is excellent. Make sure to buy a fruit bowl from the street vendors. OMG- crazy good, and so cheap!

Room Tip: Unless you sleep like the dead, don't stay on street side. It can be interesting to look out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyfromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#8 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#10 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#4 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Property: Quinta Real Oaxaca
Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quinta Real Oaxaca you can enjoy Los Naranjos Garden Los Lavaderos Garden Swimming pool El Refectorio Restaurant. From 07:00 -22:30 hrs. Las Novicias Bar. Monday- Saturday from 17:00 - 00:00 hrs. Sunday from 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. Swimming pool everyday From 08:00 - 20:00 hrs Acentua que actividades se pueden hacer cerca del hotel I you rent a car or travel in taxi, you can do this activities: Monte Alban (Zona Arqueologica)20 min. By car. Mitla (Zona Arqueologica)45 min. By car. Arbol del Tule (Arbol Milenario)20 min. By car. Hierve El Agua (Cascadas Petrificadas)1 hora con 30 min. By car. Teotitlan del Valle (Tapetes de lana)35 min. By car. San Bartolo Coyotepec (Barro Negro)20 min. By car. • Distancia que pueden hacer caminando (walking distance) Visitar el Zocalo de la Cuidad. 300 Mts. (984 Ft) Caminar Sobre el Andador Turistico. 70 Mts.(229 Ft) Visitar Catedral de la cuidad. 300 Mts.(984 Ft) Mercado 20 de Noviembre. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Mercado Benito Juarez. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Santo Domingo church. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) Etnobotanico Garden. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing