We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!”
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Camino Real is a very good hotel because the rooms are very fancy and the building is beautiful. The hotel's location is in the heart of the city. The service is great. The rooms are extremely clean. The pool is clean but cold (it wasn't heated when we were there in March). The food at the restaurant is excellent. I highly recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XanderJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Quinta Real Oaxaca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 549 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Camino Real Oaxaca is a historical building, originally a convent build 400 years ago. Although the hotel has been throughly rennovated and is quite modern, it still keeps the appearance (thich walls, high ceilings, etc.) of the original structural.

The Camino Real chain is large Mexican chain, focusing largely on the middle to high-end of the market, both business and pleasure. In my experience, it generally offers good food and reliable service. In this respect, the Camino Real in Oaxaca does not disappoint. As a Mexican chain, you will not see much of the "customer is always right" attitude although service itself is quite friendly and efficient. Just expect them to ask you several times what your room number is (and to discrete check it) before taking your order as well as precharging your credit card and locking your mini-bar. Rules are meant to be obeyed.

The rooms tend to be on the small size, with the bed taking up most of the space. There is no room for a proper desk. The closet is more than adequate. The bathroom is also small but works fine. Both rooms and the property are clean and well maintained. I had an outside room and was not bothered by the noise; other people in my group were in their rooms.

The restaurant was good although there are better (and cheaper) options in Oaxaca. The breakfast buffet is quite complete although struck me as a little expensive for Mexico. As many people have mentioned, the location is hard to beat.

I went to Oaxaca on business and the hotel seems to be aimed towards business people and well-heeled tourists (judging by the dress). I was quite impressed by the internet, which is often a problem in the best hotels in Mexico. Although not cheap, I got good service.

Overall, the hotel seems pricey. Given how Mexican hotels work, I would look for special deals to try to get a good discount. As a reference, our corporate rate was around US$120.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Camino Real for two nights. The service in the front desk is slow since there are only one or two clerks, we had to change form an outside room to inside because of the street noise, and they wanted to charge more.

Casa Oaxaca restaurant has a great terrace, get the ceviche. Pitiona across the street was great, favorites: cucumber gazpacho, shrimp risotto, fish bridge "puente de pescado" and arroz con leche foam dessert.

Go to the 20 de noviembre mercado to the tunel de humo.

Casa del mezcal is out of fashion! Very tough crowd now, dont go.

Room Tip: inside room better
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ignacio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

For Oaxaca lovers this is the place to stay, very centric location, almost everything is at walking distance. Service is very warm, hotel personnel makes you feel at home. Food is great and hotels services are also very good. Plan your stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

WE stayed at this hotel as part of our Honeymoon, and were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful decoration on our bed when we returned to our room on the first night. The food at the hotel was good on the occasions we ate there, and the staff were helpful.

The only issue we had was that there was a wedding in the hotel's main function room (a very stunning room in itself that clearly used to be a place of worship when it was a convent). Our room was quite a long way from the function room, but the noise from the reception still penetrated to our room, but thankfully not too loudly as the reception was still going when I happened to wake at 4am...!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

beautiful and historically significant architecture. great staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxofgoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I stayed here for four days on a short vacation. The hotel is in a fantastic location; a one minute walk to the Church of Santo Domingo and five minutes to the Zocalo. The hotel is large, old, and has lots of charm. The rooms are spacious, with wooden blinds that which completely block out the light and heat. There bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but had all the amenities you'd expect. There is free wifi in the lobby. There is a small but nice pool. The onsite restaurant serves up tasty food, and even better drinks. The next time I'm in Oaxaca I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPLSKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 108 in Oaxaca
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#6 of 108 in Oaxaca
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azul de Oaxaca
Hotel Azul de Oaxaca
#16 of 108 in Oaxaca
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $157 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quinta Real Oaxaca you can enjoy Los Naranjos Garden Los Lavaderos Garden Swimming pool El Refectorio Restaurant. From 07:00 -22:30 hrs. Las Novicias Bar. Monday- Saturday from 17:00 - 00:00 hrs. Sunday from 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. Swimming pool everyday From 08:00 - 20:00 hrs Acentua que actividades se pueden hacer cerca del hotel I you rent a car or travel in taxi, you can do this activities: Monte Alban (Zona Arqueologica)20 min. By car. Mitla (Zona Arqueologica)45 min. By car. Arbol del Tule (Arbol Milenario)20 min. By car. Hierve El Agua (Cascadas Petrificadas)1 hora con 30 min. By car. Teotitlan del Valle (Tapetes de lana)35 min. By car. San Bartolo Coyotepec (Barro Negro)20 min. By car. • Distancia que pueden hacer caminando (walking distance) Visitar el Zocalo de la Cuidad. 300 Mts. (984 Ft) Caminar Sobre el Andador Turistico. 70 Mts.(229 Ft) Visitar Catedral de la cuidad. 300 Mts.(984 Ft) Mercado 20 de Noviembre. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Mercado Benito Juarez. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Santo Domingo church. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) Etnobotanico Garden. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing