We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mezzaluna

Mezzaluna
Ranked #99 of 461 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $13 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Puerto Escondido
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

So maybe it was the late hour but we had a poor meal at this restaurant. Got there about midnight and were sat on the roof top - whiich has a lovely view over the city. It was cooling off so we asked it one of the gas heater could be brought over only to be informed that both of them did not work. We order drinks - beers - and ordered but then decided it was too cold so we moved down stairs. The food was poor. Two people had the salmon linguine and one had no salmon and the pasta was under done. The Lobster raviolli had 4 raviolli! The last plate was ok. Because of the error they offered 10% off one that plate ... should have been more in our opinion. We had to ask for bread and got 4 small pieces of oldish bread. So not a great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puertogordito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great christmas experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I went there to have italian for christmas dinner and were surprised to find the best view of the celebrations. parades party on through the night with bands, music and fireworks right in front of the terrace. Great margaritas, Great pizza and everyone having dinner was in a very happy mood and casually having a great time. I loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Have pizza there twice and both times are good. I also have spaghetti bolognaise but that was only ok and rather salty. The service is good and most waiters there speak English well. Ambience more for a romantic dinner rather than family with kids though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Pizza and Sangria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

A brief respite from Mexcian food, and we weren't disappointed. You must sit upstairs on the terrace. Beautiful views of Santo Domingo church. the Sangria is delicious. Service was excellent, and the pizza was divine. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't reccomend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This restaurant is very over priced, the food is mediocre and they automatically added gratuity to our bill (with only two of us dining). The view from the terrace is lovely, but I have to say that's all it has going for it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mezzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing