We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza!”
Review of Mezzaluna

Mezzaluna
Ranked #87 of 492 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $14 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Kingston, New York
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Sounds crazy to order pizza in Oaxaca, but we had had a large lunch and wanted a light dinner and Mezzaluna was recommended to us, so off we went! Again, another fabulous rooftop garden with a beautiful view of the Cathedral de Santo Domingo shining just a block away. It was another balmy beautiful evening to be sitting outside, and we loved the crispy pizza and Caesar salad made table side! Haven't seen that in years! We were a little worried about eating salad greens, but suffered no ill-effects from this delicious, authentic Caesar.

Great for an easy going meal!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnneErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    21
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza woodburning oven!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Good food, portions are large so if you have a starter don't go for the biggest pizza. I had bruscetta, very nice and a medium pizza with muchrooms and aubergine. Very nice, very authentic. It's a great place for having a break from all the nice mexican cuisine Oaxaco is famous for.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Atmosphere (NEW 'SISTER' LOCATION: #206 Alcalá)”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This review is about the sister Mezzaluna restaurant at #206 Alcalá, reportedly newly opened this past July. We did take a look at the original location, and find this one much nicer, with a classier atmosphere. Although there is no rooftop terrace at this location, it has a larger interior courtyard with an outdoor-feel, and certainly better in the cooler winter months when sitting outdoors for dinner would not be so pleasant. Just like the original, this location has a large wood-burning stone pizza oven, and still turns out what is reputedly the best pizza in Oaxaca. We also were served with complimentary garlic bread, also cooked in the stone oven. NOTE: Somewhat confusingly, the sign outside the entrance reads "Il Forno" (not Mezzaluna); but the Menus say "Mezzaluna", and the Oaxacan newspaper announcement of the opening, definately confirms it is the sister restaurant of the original.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and good food”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We enjoyed a table on the rooftop one evening and it was quite a charming location. Food delivery is a little slow because it has to come up from the first floor, but that was actually nice as sometimes around Oaxaca when they are not too busy everything comes right away. The staff was attentive, and we had a change of pace from Mexican food and ordered pastas. They were good but this isn't Italy and the sauces were not quite rich or flavorable enough for our taste.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good pizza but expensive”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had dinner at Mezzaluna and decided to sit on the upstairs terrace. The view was great but every time they bought the food it was only warm. This was fine for the lentil salad but didnt work for the calamari or the pizza. The pizza was ok but it needs to be served straight from the oven. In addition to this the meal was one of the most expensive we have had in Mexico.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junkscience89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mezzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing