We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Occasion Restaurant”

Casa Oaxaca Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 474 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
port ewen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Casa Oaxaca Delicious gourmet food, always consistent quality, lovely rooftop setting. We go there every anniversary

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    306
    113
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Probably #1 in Oaxaca”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good food, good service in good surroundings. Try the Chile de Agua appetizer, a fresh green chile stuffed with ceviche and a sweet and sour passion fruit sauce on the side. Maybe the best appetizer I have ever had (I went back again for a second try and it was just as good). Pulpo was also excellent but I don't recommend the Turkey in black mole sauce. the sauce was great but the turkey was tough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ddharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SNOOTY and UNCOMFORTABLE”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had our sights set very high on this restaurant as it came very highly recommended by friends. We visit Mexico often and enjoy everything from street meat to high end 5 star experiences. We had the hotel make a reservation for us, for the terrace (on the suggestion of the hostess and our hotel staff)... when we arrived, the hostess (who had zero personality, nor a friendly smile, nor a nice disposition) tried to seat us in the main room (cold, and not too inviting of an atmosphere).. and yes, i do know and LOVE modern design and architecture.. but i was less than impressed with this room. We talked to one of the wait staff, in spanish, to tell him we had a reservation for the terrace, in which his response was "no you dont". We explained, "yes, we just made it with the hostess and hotel" .. they continued to deny that we did so, and explained that the terrace was full because it was raining (we had made the reservation 1 hour before, while it was raining) ... the problem wasnt with the seating situation... we would have happily sat in the main room, and probably enjoyed our meal if the staff hadnt been so rude and condescending. Finally my husband spoke to the manager, who was very apologetic and kind. He actually recommended a different restaurant Pitiona, which we did end up going to the next night and it was EXTRAORDINARY!! Expensive.. but warm, inviting, not snooty at all, amazing amazing amazing food, incredible FRIENDLY service. I would go back there 100 times before returning to Casa Oaxaca. Sorry to say... because we really were looking forward to a beautiful dinner for our honeymoon. Thank you Pitiona... no thank you Casa Oaxaca.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVENTURATRAVELCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Oaxaca”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

With a breathtaking view of Sto Domingo Catedral, this restaurant delivers first class food. Service is great also. Simply Oaxaca's best. Had grilled octopus... mmm delightful! and my husband Black Mole, also delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I would go back”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I went to Casa Oaxaca with 3 friends yesterday and loved it. The waiter made salsa from scratch and brought a blue crunchy tortilla with done pig fat on top to munch.

Our appetizers were quesillo, which was melted local cheese and chorizo, chile con ceviche and a tostada with octopus. All delicious.

My entree was mole. Really good!!

The dessert was a chocolate cake but it wasn't anything to die for. Good but nothing special.

My friends drank mezcal de la Casa and loved it, I had passion fruit juice and it was tasty. The waiter gives you a whole bottle of it. Great value.

Portions are overall generous. Fish plates entrees not very much so. Everything tasted well.

A go to in Oaxaca!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Floflo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Oaxaca Restaurant also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Casa Oaxaca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing