We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Oaxaca Restaurant

Casa Oaxaca Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 453 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant and Los Danzantes were the best restaurants in town, among those I tried. Wonderful rooftop dining terrace, great menu and food choices, helpful service (although not much English spoken) and decent wine selection. A clear evening dining on the terrace, with the Santo Domingo church lit up in the background, is a lovely experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benseibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    288
    107
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Oustanding service, great atmosphere and very good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great dining experience here. The staff were possibly the best we have found - they had that rare quality of anticipating when we needed something and then being there to provide it. They went out of their way to make our dinner special and romantic. Food was excellent and the salsa which is made at your table to your taste is a brilliant idea. Loved it and thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pussintaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding meal, superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my birthday dinner and what a treat it was! The chef himself came and described each dish to us, and each plate was lovingly prepared with exquisite ingredients, including--yes--chapulines! The local specialty of grasshoppers was sneakily wrapped in a lovely little trio of tortillas. They were positively delicious. Each course was more exquisite than the next. The squash blossoms were another highlight. The evening was pretty chilly on the balcony, but they made a real effort to make it pleasant for us (we insisted on that location, just for the lovely view overlooking the church) by bringing over two outdoor heaters and constantly adjusting them for optimum efficiency. A truly memorable meal, capped off by cognacs indoors and a serendipitous meeting with other travellers who took us onward to another local bar for nightcaps.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An OK meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant both downstairs and on the upper deck, if it's not too windy or cold. However, as accomodating at the staff is, the food is nothing to write home about. I heard around town that the restaurant had slipped in quality, and compared to other experiences, I believe it has. We had duck, which was very chewy and not much flavor. The soup was good but not great. I definitely think the owners should check into what the kitchen is putting out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tepoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Food and Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

With a reservation on the roof top the evening is a really enjoyable event, be it private or business. We especially enjoyed the nice appetizer sauce - freshly prepared at your table (following your gusto on spicy or less), the fresh ingredients and well prepared and presented dishes. Remarkable excellent service and very good wine choice. Go with a reservation and perhaps see the place for a drink earlier to ask for a special table. The location is only feet away from one of in my eyes most beautiful and magic churches of Oaxaca, San Domingo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MexicoViva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Oaxaca Restaurant also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Casa Oaxaca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing