We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding meal, superb service”

Casa Oaxaca Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 461 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kitchener
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding meal, superb service”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my birthday dinner and what a treat it was! The chef himself came and described each dish to us, and each plate was lovingly prepared with exquisite ingredients, including--yes--chapulines! The local specialty of grasshoppers was sneakily wrapped in a lovely little trio of tortillas. They were positively delicious. Each course was more exquisite than the next. The squash blossoms were another highlight. The evening was pretty chilly on the balcony, but they made a real effort to make it pleasant for us (we insisted on that location, just for the lovely view overlooking the church) by bringing over two outdoor heaters and constantly adjusting them for optimum efficiency. A truly memorable meal, capped off by cognacs indoors and a serendipitous meeting with other travellers who took us onward to another local bar for nightcaps.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    294
    110
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An OK meal”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant both downstairs and on the upper deck, if it's not too windy or cold. However, as accomodating at the staff is, the food is nothing to write home about. I heard around town that the restaurant had slipped in quality, and compared to other experiences, I believe it has. We had duck, which was very chewy and not much flavor. The soup was good but not great. I definitely think the owners should check into what the kitchen is putting out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tepoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Food and Site”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

With a reservation on the roof top the evening is a really enjoyable event, be it private or business. We especially enjoyed the nice appetizer sauce - freshly prepared at your table (following your gusto on spicy or less), the fresh ingredients and well prepared and presented dishes. Remarkable excellent service and very good wine choice. Go with a reservation and perhaps see the place for a drink earlier to ask for a special table. The location is only feet away from one of in my eyes most beautiful and magic churches of Oaxaca, San Domingo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MexicoViva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful night out”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant and were not disappointed. We booked a table on the roof with a marvellous view of the cathedral. Food and service were excellent and our adult family of five all enjoyed the range of dishes with local moles and flavours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Helot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
647 reviews
451 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Centro option”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Ate here 29 Dec with a reservation made 3 days in advance. Sat at a table for 2 next to the kitchen. Decor is minimalist modern. Not very satisfying. Service is acceptable - not sure who the waiter was as 3 different persons plus likely the busboy attended our table. Nice touch was the table prepared salsa. Only complaint was it was too salty and we could have prevented that if our spanish was better. It was served with a crisp baked tortilla. Green squash soup was average. The heirloom tomato salad was good but there was too much goat cheese. The shrimp main was tasty, and the duck tacos just OK. Good wine selection with several Mexican options. Meal & wine prices are a bit high but typical of this kind of venue. If you plan on going reserve well in advance during a busy season.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Oaxaca Restaurant also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Casa Oaxaca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing