We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Hostel Don Nino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Don Nino
Ranked #13 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've never stayed in a hostel that is that well looked after. It is super clean, super friendly, reception is always willing and happy to help. The beds are comfy, the kitchen clean with all the things you need to prepare your own dish. Breakfast is fine, the 50 Pesos lunch menu is very good as well. Amazing atmosphere with everyone being super friendly and open to meet others.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Alix V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 194 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

You really can't ask for anything more from a hostel—spotless accommodations, complimentary hot breakfast, ideal location in the city, and a nice staff. The only possible criticisms I can think of are that they're a little picky with their towels and the wifi was a little choppy sometimes. For the price, though, it's the perfect hostel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

i went through one site who said this hostal was full,then i went to another site and struck gold.this hostal is centrally located to down,the ADO bus terminal,and even a fabulous prk right across the street.rooms are clean and room service does a great job of making sure your bed is changed daily.a bar,a rooftop kitchen area and yes even a free shot of mezcal from 7-8 pm daily,yes daily.a great and extremely helpful staff.who are willing to assist you as much as you need.they even found me a store to get a camera.i highly recommend takeing a close look at the don niño before you scour the city of all the OTHER hostals.for my buck when i come back to oaxaca,this will be the hostal i choose first.

Room Tip: of all the hostals i had my pick of this place is primo.go to any hostal web site and you do the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipholmes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights, good location very central.
The rooms are cozy and clean the common are is perfect, big nice with a comfortable kitchen .
The wifi is good also in the rooms.
Breakfast is big and with a lot of options. Reception opened 24h .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Super clean and comfortable with a pleasant outdoor terrace kitchen. Lovely 10 mins walk from the Zócalo and right next to a park which is great for running in the mornings. The breakfast isn't amazing but maybe I'm just fussy. kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatfrench84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were really disappointed with this hostel. We were in a double with a private bath that cost $46/night. The room felt like a hospital room it was so sterile and spartan. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, the sheets were rough and our room got no natural light or air ventilation. Worst of all, it was incredibly noisy. Every time anyone returned to the hostel (and it's a big hostel with dozens of beds) we got woken up. If anyone walked by, it was like they were shouting into our room. The breakfast and coffee were also really bad. Stay somewhere else, especially at that price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveler0055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hosteldonnino, Gerente at Hostel Don Nino, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We appreciate your review, good or bad we like people to give us their point of view. The decoration of the room goes along with the place and the point of it being a Hostel. The room counts with a window that measures 240cm (width) by 120 cm (height) and half of this is for ventilation. We think it is enough space for air to come through especially if the room was right next to the garden and the room counts with a fan. If you open the curtains there will be natural light in the room. It is normal for any Hotel or Hostel to have hallways and for people to go out for dinner or even come back around 9:15pm this was the time you complained about the noise (When people are on vacation they go out for diner at night or there are some who leave early to catch a flight, who hasn’t done it?) We want to mention we are not a party Hostel and there are situations that we just can’t prevent. There are only three rooms in every floor, there for there were not much people walking around or past your room. The dorms are on the other side of the Hostel so it was impossible for the people using the dozens of beds to even come close to your window or room. We are sorry you did not like the breakfast but you are actually the first person to complain about it. We have a buffet type area where people can take cereal, toast, coffee and tea at there own measure. Besides that we still serve a main dish which varies every day. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the City of Oaxaca. We are sorry the hostel wasn’t what you expected. This motivates us to pay more attention to the points you mention. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don Niño was perfect... Clean, comfortable, friendly and in a great location. Close to the bus station, downtown and still within walking distance to other neighborhoods of the city. It is right on a park that features festivals, music and markets weekly. The staff are friendly and helpful. The kitchen is functional and lovely, they offer laundry service too. I stayed for a month and it really felt like home. Great prices as well! Definitely a great option for a quick visit or a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelergirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.9 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#1 of 123 in Oaxaca
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Chocolate
Hostal Chocolate
#9 of 123 in Oaxaca
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal de Las Americas
Hostal de Las Americas
#4 of 123 in Oaxaca
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
#16 of 123 in Oaxaca
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iguana Hostel Oaxaca
Iguana Hostel Oaxaca
#6 of 123 in Oaxaca
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Pochon
Hostal Pochon
#12 of 123 in Oaxaca
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Don Nino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Don Nino

Address: Pino Suarez 804 | Col.centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range: $10 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Don Nino 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will receive a wide range of hotel services at Hostel Don Nino. Even the most sophisticated of your needs will be fulfilled. Hostel Don Nino offers you Hotel Rooms & Hostel Dorms in a period propertyrecently remodeled with contemporary facilities; opened in December 2008 located in a convenient and pleasant area away from the hustle and bustle of the central commercial district down but still inside the “Centro Histórico” Historic Area of the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Don Nino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Don Nino Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing