We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hostel in Mexico”
Review of Hostel Don Nino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Don Nino
Ranked #16 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a fantastic hostel - the best I have stayed in in Mexico. The hostel has everything you need, is a lovely place to hang out in and the staff are fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaddyH457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 192 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights. It was ok. Ok room, showers in another floor, terrible breakfast.
But the most annoying was that I bough I tour at the hostel and they charged me 50% (FIFTY PERCENT!!!) more than everyone else who was in the exact same tour. This is beyond unreasonable, it is not acceptable. I felt like I was stolen. And to make it worse, when i boght it I asked if they charged more (I could be ok with paying - a little! - more as it would save me some time) and they said NO, it's the exact same price.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I had an excellent stay at this place. Jose and Lizbeth are great host and are very helpful. The breakfast was really good and the place was neat and clean. It is very close to the first class bus stop ADO and it is right off of Llano Grande. Oaxaca city is mainly 2 cities, one is a small touristic city where this place is and so are most of the hotels and the famous Zocalo square and second is the place where locals live which is beyond 2nd class bus station where 90% of the tourists never venture out to. You will be mostly able to walk to everywhere in the touristic part of the town, even though it is 10 minute walk to Zocalo from this place.
They have free internet (also free wifi), purified water, helpful staff, great kitchen and open lounge area at the top and to top it all a free shot of Mezcal :).

The only bad experience I had was that I used their travelagent to book to Puerto Escondido. DO NOT book tickets to Puerto Escondido from them(Don Nino), as they have no control on the traveling agency. I had a booking for 9:30 am in the morning and they told me to be ready by 9 but they did not even start until 11 am !!. I was literally taken for a ride. On top of that, it is much cheaper to buy it directly from them, as I sadly learnt later. I do not mind the extra money if they had started on time, but 2 hours late is horrible, wasted all of my day.

Baiju

Room Tip: All rooms are great. The nights get chilly in Jan or Dec as the windows/doors are not air tight. Rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

i stayed in a 8 beds dorm. I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel, its one of the best hostels i stayed in! Its really clean. Its reasonably priced.
I like the location, its near the park and reaaaally close to the ADO..Also a short walk to the zocalo.
The staff are so helpful,kind and amazingly friendly..you arrive as a customer and leave as a friend. i'd definetly stay there again and its highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeina66z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We got a private room with bathroom that was large, great shower pressure and lots of hot water, window looking out onto a treed courtyard. They encourage you to refill your water bottles with purified water in the lobby area, free internet with a good, fast connection, the young girl at reception speaks excellent english and is very friendly, breakfast is included but not ample. your cholce of toast with jam or a quesidilla or tamale, coffee/tea, sometimes a bit of fruit, sometimes a glass of juice. Between 7-8pm everynight go to the bar area for your free shot of mezcal. The rooftop kitchen is spotless, has ample dishes, seating area, gas stove/oven, big fridge, purified water tap, cutlery, glasses, pots and pans, etc. The whole hotel is ridicuously CLEAN. There is also a big park across the street with lots going on. Oxaca has a lovely safe feeling and some of the most amazing art I've ever seen. I would love to spend a couple of months doing something here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EatWell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Maybe a little bit impersonal but a really great hostel. Room and bathroom were super clean, comfy beds, fast internet, good breakfast, nice outdoor terrace and full equiped kitchen. Many enjoyable common areas with couches, plasma tvs, dvd, and computers. Many hostels should learn and know from them that you can travel in a budget and get 1st class service. I would definitely reccommend this place.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
Thank republicadeasturias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Well priced and rather clean, this hostel is a good entry point for Oaxaca. Breakfast, linen, free internet, 4 pc's, kicker table, and this for 150 pesos in a 12er dorm. The only drawback is the somewhat impersonal atmosphere, I experienced (though, I only stayed for one night, off-season). Will recommend in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
#4 of 109 in Oaxaca
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#2 of 119 in Oaxaca
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal de Las Americas
Hostal de Las Americas
#3 of 119 in Oaxaca
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paulina Youth Hostel
Paulina Youth Hostel
#8 of 119 in Oaxaca
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
#11 of 119 in Oaxaca
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Don Nino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Don Nino

Address: Pino Suarez 804 | Col.centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range: $14 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Don Nino 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will receive a wide range of hotel services at Hostel Don Nino. Even the most sophisticated of your needs will be fulfilled. Hostel Don Nino offers you Hotel Rooms & Hostel Dorms in a period propertyrecently remodeled with contemporary facilities; opened in December 2008 located in a convenient and pleasant area away from the hustle and bustle of the central commercial district down but still inside the “Centro Histórico” Historic Area of the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Don Nino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Don Nino Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing