We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very welcoming place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Don Mario

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Posada Don Mario
Ranked #15 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very welcoming place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed in the Posada Don Mario during Easter week. The place is very well run and the service is excellent. It's clean, reasonably priced, closed to the center, and quiet. It has a wonderful view from the top terrace. There are lots of green cheerful places to lounge around and relax in.
I can highly recommend the Posada and wish Sra. Norma all the best.









Very special

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnkeSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
6
24
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

small room,the ceiling is low,the air in the room is close and there is a big noisy fan.
they clean only bathroom,not room's floor,so my sole become black.
morning time they played one song over and over loundly,that makes me crazy.
location is not so bad.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tacotacotacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

This hotel was very noisy and the staff did nothing to enforce a quiet time. It was not very clean either. The continental breakfast consisted of luke warm coffe, and a few pieces of fruit with so called granola sprinkled on top. The "granola" practically tbroke my teeth. I stayed in more restful places in Oaxaca that did not advertise themselves as something more than they were for less money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

I stayed in Jan 2010. The reason I highly recommend this place is that the woman who runs it and the people who work there are so kind and helpful and make you feel at home. They really make it a great place. The rooms are basic, but very clean. There is free internet use and wifi. Free breakfast is offered Mon-Sat. The hotel is in a great location -- near a market and near Santo Domingo and Los Arquitos. The zocalo is within easy walking distance. I liked that it is not located on a busy street, so you don't breathe bus fumes or have to deal with noisy traffic. I was traveling by myself and felt the neighborhood was quite safe.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabaidee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

It’s a friendly place with a beautiful patio in the middle. There is also access to a terrace on the top of the roof with a view over Oaxaca. Its quiet and the colourful rooms let you dream from your travel. In addition it’s a cheap place. The price includes breakfast and the family is really helpful and sympathetic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majamexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Agustinillo, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

Would highly recommend this little gem of a Posada, Norma and family were more than accomodating for myself and 2 friends who were visitng Oaxaca for Days of the Dead. The birthplace of Rufino Tamayo, the posada is clean, good value and very central...close to Llano Park, the market and all the great restaurants and coffe shops on Garcia Virgil.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casamagica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Posada for a few nights in October, having been let down by another Oaxaca establishment that didn't honour our reservation (grr!). We were welcomed by the lovely Dona Norma, who made sure we were happy with our room before giving us the keys and gave us an amazing wealth of information for things to do during our stay.

Our room was clean with basic furniture including a nice big wardrobe and welcoming chocolates! We had a private bathroom,
though the hostel also has shared facilities if you are on a tighter budget. We had one of the rooftop rooms, where you can enjoy amazing views of the Oaxaca valley from the terrace.

The hostel also has a charming courtyard where complimentary breakfast is served - perhaps my only complaint is that the portions were a little on the small side, but there is delicious coffee and free re-fills. You can also buy water, beers and snacks from the reception all at reasonable prices. There is also free wi-fi.

Posada don Mario is ideally located - within walking distance of the main town and its attractions, but far enough to not be disturbed by the hustle and bustle. Though this is Mexico so you are never too far away from live marching band music and fireworks!

I cannot recommend this place more highly. We had a great time in the hostel thanks to the staff's amazing hospitality. It is clean, friendly and great value.

  • Liked — Good clean rooms for the budget
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Thebigtripaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#38 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#19 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oaxacalli
Hotel Oaxacalli
#91 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Don Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Mario

Property: Posada Don Mario
Address: Calle Cosijopi 219, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Don Mario 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Don Mario, an ideal place to stay, is the house where the famous Oaxaca painter Rufino Tamayo was born in. The service at the Posada as well as its availability and price make it your best option for somewhere to stay. Situated in Carmen Alto, it is the only completely colonial area of the Historical Center of the City of Oaxaca.From the rooftop of the Posada Don Mario you can enjoy a wonderful view of the places mentioned above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Don Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing