We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value in Oaxaca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for a week during Day of the Dead celebrations this year - and enjoyed our stay immensely. This was probably our sixth or seventh stay at the Parador over the last ten years, and we have enjoyed each one. The historic center of Oaxaca is now filled with boutique hotels, many of which are beautifully decorated, but that have very impractical rooms. We have stayed at a few where all the furniture was wrought iron--not good to sit on for more than a few minutes. At the Parador, on the other hand, the decoration is quite plain, but the suites are spacious. In the livingroon there is a sofa that can seat three, plus one or two comfortable chairs. The kitchen has a table seating four; bedrooms are large with two queen beds. The parador is on Macedonia Alcala, the pedestrian walkway, just a 10-15 minute walk from the zocalo; a terrific location close to the action, but not right in the middle of the noise. The staff is very friendly, especially if you make overtures to chat with them. And the parador is one of the few hotels in central Oaxaca with a pool. Granted, it's pretty small, but it's well-maintained and is nice to cool off in after a hot afternoon's outing to Monte Alban or a village. And the cost? Currently around $60/night, including taxes. It is a great bargain. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: The building has three floors. If you don't have trouble climbing stairs, the top floor is proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellover2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2011

Management needs to be more aware and proactive regarding noisy guests. I have listened to a group of Spanish speaking kids and adults behave verbally atrociously for the past two weeks of a four week stay by me. There lack of civility regarding other guests is unconscionable. Where is management in requesting that these people quiet down?

This is otherwise a fine facility in a good location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bellotaPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We stayed here for 2 and 1/2 weeks in December 2010. We were very pleased with all the space--bedroom, living room and having kitchen with continuous supply of purified water. Kitchen supplies are minimal but we mainly used the coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The decor is plain but the place was clean and daily maid service was provided. Great hot water supply for showers. Also there is an amazing amount of closet and shelf space in the bedroom. We had cable TV. The location is great---two blocks north of Santo Domingo church and just around the corner one block from Conzatti Park. There is a grocery store a few blocks away on Reforma. Parking space is provided. Free internet use in the lobby. Javier, the manager, and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. I have stayed closer to the zocolo before but much prefer this quieter north location and it is a lovely 6 block walk down Acala to the Zocolo. We spent lots of time at El Llano Parque for all of the Virgin of Guadalupe feastday festivities the weekend of Dec 12. El Llano is also a short distance from the hotel. I would certainly stay here again. Don't miss the great tortes at the food trailer, La Hormiga, in Conzatti Park. Also, great comida daily at Rincon Oxaqueno on block south of the hotel. Lots of great places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acmehike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Parador whenever we visit Oaxaca for the past 15 years. Perfect location, wonderful staff, squeeky clean rooms, restaurants nearby, cute little pool and great price! The decorating is a little drab, but I fill the sitting room with flowers and the textiles I find there and///there you go....it feels like home. A remarkable bargain.
Barb

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman is more of an apt. or condo vs. a hotel. We had an very clean one bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen and living area. Daily maid service. Bottled water always put in our room. The management is always on site and extremely helpful. It is a small complex with a swimming pool. You can easily walk to the main area of Oaxaca. But yet, far enough away so you get away from some of the street noise in the Zocalo. The only down side is because most leave their windows open all the time, noise from talking/laughing in other apts. can be heard. There is no air conditioning, but again, the cross breeze from leaving windows open worked well. Oaxaca is 5000 ft elevation, therefore does not get as hot as some other area. Really a fabulous town and area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhaleWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank asanchezmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lasaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
La Catrina de Alcala
La Catrina de Alcala
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
#60 of 109 in Oaxaca
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Las Mercedes
Hotel Casa Las Mercedes
#58 of 109 in Oaxaca
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaxaca Dorado
Oaxaca Dorado
#92 of 109 in Oaxaca
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman

Address: Calle Macedonio Alcala 804 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: $50 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman has 18 suites, roomy and nicely decorated in the Mexican style. The Suites have 2 queen size beds, private bathrooms, living rooms, dining room and kitchen with all the necesities. Security boxes as well as internet connection in each room and wireless (wi-fi) all over, swiming pool with a protected shallow side for kids and resting areas along the pool, private parking, and restaurant are part of our facilities, as well as the best personalized service. All of this with an affordable price. Major credit cards accepted. *** NEWS: All bathrooms and showers have been fully renovated, refurbished and decorated during 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing