We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling right at home in rooftop apartment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center
Ranked #21 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Bellingham
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Feeling right at home in rooftop apartment”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

What can I add to previous posts? It's our second visit to the Oaxaca Learning Center (TOLC). Two years ago we happened upon the B&B during the September Independence Day celebration. This time we've rented the rooftop apartment for the month of December. Sadly there's no fresh breakfast available (like in the B&B rooms) but it's great fun to start the day with coffee and fresh fruit on our own sunny patio. The staff have thought of everything to make for a comfortable stay. The apartment as well as the downstairs rooms are clean and efficient. We really appreciate the good reading lights, mattresses and free wifi connection! Seems like there's always a fiesta going on somewhere in town. Today we enrolled in a Spanish School to study next week. Shopping for food becomes an adventure when spread amongst the many markets and shops. There is opportunity for a vegetarian cooking class with the resident chef at TOLC who's just compiled a book of recipes. We've discovered the nearby Oaxaca Lending Library run by local expats--a fantastic resource just a few blocks from TOLC. There are also lots of activities posted online, so you can choose to experience the tourist sites or the more local cultural venues. I am pleased to recommend this cozy spot to anyone who wants to help out or be a part of such a worthwhile venture. The location, facilities and competent staff will provide a secure resting place while you set off to explore Oaxaca!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I wanted to update my review of two or three years ago. The Learning Center is a much better place to stay now. Many of the students who use to mill around the courtyard and occupy the chairs and hammocks have been move around the corner. The school has expanded to a second location. This changes the whole experience of staying at the Learning Center. It is quiet and peaceful and I would definitely recommend it. All the good things that people say about it are true and the fact that the money you pay all goes to help the poorer students of Oaxaca is a great contribution.

Room Tip: Both rooms are the same size. One has a double bed; the other twin beds. If the roof top apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed in the apartment for 4 nights. The apartment is on top of the school and is very private, secure, and pleasant to spend time in. The apartment is tastefully decorated, has a well supplied kitchen, and feels spacious. Outside of the apartment you have access to a sunny rooftop cactus garden that is nice to read a book or sun in. At first I was worried about noise after reading another review, but I slept great each night and did not notice anything beyond the ordinary. Gary, the owner of the Learning Center is very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. I highly recommend this place for its excellent accommodation. Staying at the Learning Center is a great way to responsibly travel since your money will directly support the community development and education projects of the school.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I have returned to this lovely learning center several times- the room, breakfasts and company are delightful. It's not for those who want absolute peace & quiet- it is a center where young people (basically teens) who are smarter and more dedicated than most of the students I have taught for 30 years come daily to make a difference in their own & each others lives by studying and working together. It is a privilege to contribute a bit to this enterprise by meeting with the students - one on one- for "intercambios- exchanging conversation-- especially wondrful for those wishing to practice their Spanish.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The great thing about The Learning Center in Oaxaca - aside from it's comfortable rooms, personal service, friendly staff and homemade granola & yogurt - is that it provides you the opportunity to be a part of, and give back to, the local community. We stayed there for a week, enjoyed talking to the owner, students, and employees; had the opportunity to take a private cooking class and practice Spanish, and instantly felt totally at home. It's sort of like visiting someone else's amazing family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. If you plan in advance, there is a rooftop apartment too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcdubbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Clean and comfortable rooms and a lovely garden with hammocks. Fresh fruit in the morning and very helpful people. I would definitely recommend this place, they use the money you pay for the room (i think it was about 500 pesos for the double) for the learning centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maaike82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I spent nearly two weeks at the bed and breakfast of The Oaxaca Learning Center (TOLC) in April 2011 and it was, hands down, the best vacation of my life.
Oaxaca is a beautiful city, and there are many points of interest for a tourist. The center is located in the northeast part of the historic district, near enough to the main Zocalo and tourist attractions to be convenient, but off-the-beaten-path enough to not be overrun with tourists.
Rooms at the bed and breakfast are simple, very clean and comfortable. There is a garden terrace for lounging (complete with hammocks), a well-stocked library, and a spacious living/dining room. There are tons of beautiful artwork on display, including textiles, paintings and ceramics, although overall the atmosphere is unfussy and relaxing.
Breakfasts are simple and healthy: homemade granola and yogurt, and lots of fresh fruit. It’s a great way to start the day, and the yogurt can really help your digestion, but if it doesn’t suit you there are numerous restaurants nearby featuring eggs and other Oaxacan breakfast dishes.
Gary Titus, the center’s director and creator, is a warm and helpful host. As a non-Spanish speaker I found comfort in knowing there was an American nearby, and many of the staff also speak good English. At breakfast in the morning, Gary was able to point me to areas of interest many people do not explore.
But the best part of staying at TOLC is that you are privileged to meet young Oaxacan students, and, if you desire, given a chance to practice your Spanish and their English at organized “intercambios,” which are one-hour language instruction sessions. The sessions are completely voluntary, but the idea is that you help them with their English and they help you with your Spanish. It’s a wonderful concept.
Eventually I was able to engage a young staff member there to help me navigate the city’s colossal Asbastos Market. The market is a maze of stalls offering everything you could possibly desire and I could never have found my way without Mireli’s help. And having her watch over me was a great comfort, as the market is notorious for pickpockets
I was also able set up a session with TOLC’s fantastic cook, Andreas, who took me to a smaller market down the street where we chose piles of vegetables and fruits for lunch. TOLC’s kitchen is vegetarian, and we created an amazing array of fresh, healthy Oaxacan dishes using fantastic ingredients. The cost, fabulous meal included, was about half of what the fancy restaurants charge for cooking lessons, and the food was simpler, something I’ll be likely to reproduce at home.
So go to Oaxaca. See the fabulous sites. But don’t miss out on the best part of the culture, the warm and wonderful people who make the place so special. If you stay at TOLC, you will be able to encounter them in a relaxed, non-commercial setting, where you may actually end up being helpful, rather than a merely passive onlooker.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanMoore044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.0 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#2 of 115 in Oaxaca
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center

Property: Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center
Address: Calle Murguia # 703, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our comfortable and friendly B&B is a socially responsible accommodation that helps local youth. We have two pleasantly-appointed bedrooms with private tiled baths and a rooftop self-sufficient, fully equipped one-bedroom apartment. All accommodation includes comfortable beds, fans, telephones, DSL connections and continental breakfast. The B&B is part of the storefront Learning Center - a life skills and tutoring program for young people from rural villages. 100% of the funds raised from the B&B support the programs and operation of The Learning Center. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing