We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first experience oaxacan cuisine”

La Casa de la Abuela
Ranked #33 of 461 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aruba
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“first experience oaxacan cuisine”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We got advised by a waiter of a previous restaurant in Oaxaca to try out La casa de la Abuela. We were told that this was a place to try out some traditional Oaxacan dishes. The location of the restaurant is great. It is located right on the corner of Zocalo/Alameda. From our table we looked right at the catedral! A beautiful view! The service however was very businesslike (distant). All waiters were constantly in a hurry and seemed to have no time to answer questions we had on menu and its dishes. We started of with some chapulines colorados (fried grasshoppers in chili seasoning which is a traditional dish from Oaxaca area) served with tortillas, salsa and guacamole. Not bad in taste. For our main dish we had a tllayuda (type of mexican 'pizza') and tasado (sliced pounded beef). Both were good! Must say this place gave a good introduction to the typical Oaxacan food. For the price it was a good eat. Too bad the service wasn't what we expected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    121
    53
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
322 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Horrendous tourist trap”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The reviews that we read suggested that this place is where local Mexicans go to eat, and the location seemed like it could be nice, on a second floor overlooking the zócalo. In hindsight, we should have turned around and left as soon as we saw the dining room - large, noisy, with harsh bright lighting and full of tourists. Very few Mexican faces in the restaurant, and this was Holy Week, when there were many Mexican tourists in town. The food was mediocre given the generally very high standard of eating you can enjoy in Oaxaca, and the service was TERRIBLE. Requests forgotten, incomplete table setting, various waiters stopping by our table, and it took almost half an hour to get the check despite repeated requests. I left no tip, and this is something I NEVER do. As we walked down the stairs to leave the place, the diners behind us were also discussing what a terrible experience they had had, and also emphasized the incompentent service. Think twice before wasting your money here, there are so many other wonderful places nearby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basiluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT CHOICE TO STAY”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent food. like home made, authentic Oaxacan food. its in second floor with great views to the socalo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arcie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable meal in Oaxaca”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went for dinner and had a table by the window overlooking the bustling Zocalo. The location was superb, there was live music in the Zocalo which we could listen to as we ate and took advantage of the great people-watching. The restaurant is nicely decorated, and it is quiet inside so that you can appreciate the music and revelry below and still have a lovely chat over dinner. The food is typical Oaxacan, and ours was quite tasty. We are vegetarians and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating and made lovely dishes. While the place is on the expensive side relative to other places in Oaxaca, the location, ambiance, and great service we received definitely made it worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaRth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent mole and Value”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved this basic restaurant and had an incredible mole negro on our first night in Oaxaca. The restaurant is nothing fancy but provides a wonderful meal with a great view of the zocalo from the 2nd story windows. Put it on your restaurant list, it will not disappoint.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mexgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de la Abuela also viewed

 

Been to La Casa de la Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing