We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT CHOICE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa de la Abuela

La Casa de la Abuela
Ranked #60 of 399 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Covina, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT CHOICE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent food. like home made, authentic Oaxacan food. its in second floor with great views to the socalo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arcie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    98
    44
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable meal in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went for dinner and had a table by the window overlooking the bustling Zocalo. The location was superb, there was live music in the Zocalo which we could listen to as we ate and took advantage of the great people-watching. The restaurant is nicely decorated, and it is quiet inside so that you can appreciate the music and revelry below and still have a lovely chat over dinner. The food is typical Oaxacan, and ours was quite tasty. We are vegetarians and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating and made lovely dishes. While the place is on the expensive side relative to other places in Oaxaca, the location, ambiance, and great service we received definitely made it worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaRth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent mole and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved this basic restaurant and had an incredible mole negro on our first night in Oaxaca. The restaurant is nothing fancy but provides a wonderful meal with a great view of the zocalo from the 2nd story windows. Put it on your restaurant list, it will not disappoint.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mexgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great home style Oaxacan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This restaurant, located on the corner of the Zócalo and with views to it is a perfect place to sit down, relax and sample great Oaxacan food. We are Mexican and go there often. The food is straighforward, such as you would find in the food market, but here you can have drinks and be waited on and try various starters, soups, main courses and desserts. The black mole was excellent, as were the stuffed "chiles pasilla" and the "tlayuda con tasajo" (a large crunchy and thin tortilla with 'asiento'-tasty pork fat, beans, cheese and cured, salted beef to which you add salsa). The grasshoppers are also great to sample as are various other dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frontera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews from those in my group of 7”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Best thing was the atmosphere and the view of the Zocalo. The service was also excellent, I ordered tortilla soup, which is my favorite Mexican dish that I try to sample at all Mexican restaurants. It was good, but not hot, the way I like it, (temperature). I don't even remember what I ate as my entree, it was forgettable. But thank goodness for the hot chocolate, that was great. My friends who had touristy type food like tacos, were satisfied. The one who tried the sampler was disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de la Abuela also viewed

 

Been to La Casa de la Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing