We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice setting, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catedral Restaurante & Bar

Catedral Restaurante & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Catedral Restaurante & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 414 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
575 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Dined 28 Dec with a reservation for a specific table @ 7:30. Arrived on time, the table was ready but right beside our table was a set up for 14 expected to arrive at 8pm. We asked to move and were promptly seated in a separate section of the restaurant. There were few diners at first but as the evening progressed the restaurant began to fill. The service started out great but as time passed the service noticeably slowed. By the end of the meal we had to flag down staff to get dessert, coffee and the bill.
The restaurant has a decent wine selection with several Mexican choices. We asked for a Santo Tomas cab. They did not have it and offered the same winery Barbera for more money. Declined and chose a L.A. Cetto which was delivered.
Enjoyed the house Sopa Cathedral which was very tasty. The chicken in mole sauce was OK & the BBQ pork ribs in green sauce were a small portion but nicely cooked.
Overall the dinner was fine, the setting excellent and the restaurant can be recommended.

1 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
191 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Delicious! Fabulous service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Catedral was a fantastic meal! We enjoyed everything we ordered from the wine, to the appetizers, soups, salads and entrees. Everything was fresh and delicious. The salsa made table side was a particular highlight. It was about 80 dollars for three people. What a deal for fine service, food and ambiance. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Thank ana4sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the top restaurants in Oaxaca, but not perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

After reading several reviews, I went to Catedral to see if it lived up to the hype. The person who joined me lived in Oaxaca for 5 years. I am a food lover, I often go to top rated restaurants and food tastings, so I admit I have high standards. Here is my opinion:

Overall, a gorgeous setting and top top service.
A nice selection of various dishes characteristic of Oaxaca, including worm sauce and black mole... The crepes here are excellent, definitely recommend.
The ravioli with suckling pig also unique, through too salty.

Feels like an expensive 5 star restaurant, but actually is not that much more expensive than some of the other top rated restaurants in town, a good deal.

The food was excellent but not the best I've had in Oaxaca. I tried the black mole, it was complex but too sweet. Also some of the food had too much salt. I suggest ordering sauces (except for moles) without salt, and then add the salt yourself, to suit your tastes.

Overall Catedral is definitely worth a visit. If you are really really into purely food (over atmosphere), there are better places in Oaxaca. But if you want to experience a romantic beautiful setting, five star service and a classic restaurant experience, then this is the place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank Palatyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Romantic Setting with Delicious Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having read mostly glowing reviews, we chose Catredral to have our last night in this gastronomical centre, and it did not disappoint. Excellent service, delicious food and an attentive owner who has given up a career as a lawyer to return to Oaxaca to run the family business. Book in person to secure your table in the courtyard. The pork ribs were especially good: tender and flavourful.

Visited November 2012
Thank Baronesssa191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We chose to go to the Catedral Restaurant on Sunday afternoon after church, based on trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed! The price of 160 pesos per person, about $12.50, was incredible. The wide range of selections and all you could eat, fit the bill for our one meal out a day routine. Not only was the food delicious, but the service was superior. Oscar, our waiter was the best. I highly recommend the Catedral Restaurant, especially for Sunday brunch.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank sqpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catedral Restaurante & Bar also viewed


Been to Catedral Restaurante & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing