We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Setting with Delicious Food”

Catedral Restaurante & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Catedral Restaurante & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 484 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Romantic Setting with Delicious Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having read mostly glowing reviews, we chose Catredral to have our last night in this gastronomical centre, and it did not disappoint. Excellent service, delicious food and an attentive owner who has given up a career as a lawyer to return to Oaxaca to run the family business. Book in person to secure your table in the courtyard. The pork ribs were especially good: tender and flavourful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Baronesssa191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    220
    67
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BOERNE
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We chose to go to the Catedral Restaurant on Sunday afternoon after church, based on trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed! The price of 160 pesos per person, about $12.50, was incredible. The wide range of selections and all you could eat, fit the bill for our one meal out a day routine. Not only was the food delicious, but the service was superior. Oscar, our waiter was the best. I highly recommend the Catedral Restaurant, especially for Sunday brunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sqpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were devastated that we only discovered Catedral on our last evening in Oaxaca -- otherwise we would have gone there every night. Having heard that Oaxaca had the best cuisine in Mexico, we'd been disappointed so far. But Catedral was a revelation.
It's in a beautifully restored old mansion, with a lovely indoor patio. Nothing folkloric here: the colours are deep and dramatic, and the ambience is stylish and sophisticated. As was the service. The food was outstanding; this is a long-established family-run restaurant which apparently bases its menu around dishes which the owner's mother refined from traditional Oaxacan recipes. It's very polished, and a different world from most of the "typical Mexican" tourist restaurants in town. A must if you're in Oaxaca...and don't leave it till your last day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

They have a buffet, and you can try many different tipes of mexican
typical food, like mole negro, stuffed chiles including a variety of desserts, and a very good attention, and well priced

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Letyakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Having noticed this restaurant's ranking of #3, we chose it for our first night in Oaxaca. We arrived in Oaxaca late in the afternoon and had noticed that this establishment was a block and a half walk from our hotel.

We had both done a great deal of reading about the uniqueness of the regional cooking style found in Oaxaca. On their menu, we found a "sampler plate for two" with an assortment of traditional regional entrees. While the service and presentation were fine, neither of us was particularly impressed with any of the sampler items. We left thinking that we had some things to learn about the Oaxaca regional style.

The ambiance of this restaurant was exceptional and we may return for another trial run at a future date.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catedral Restaurante & Bar also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Catedral Restaurante & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing