We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegans Welcome!”
Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 491 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Vegans Welcome!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We arrived around 3pm, without a reservation, but were seated right away. We had hoped to enjoy the fixed price menu offered on Wednesdays and Fridays, but discovered that a reservation 10 days in advance is now required! Anyway, we had a lovely meal: Recommend the "Señor Pepito" mescal cocktail. We were interested to see that most of the diners were locals/businessmen -- we were among the few American tourists! Also, this restaurant is a great choice for those on a vegetarian/vegan diet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HOWRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We always recommend to make a reservation for our weekly menu, since it is such a popular and delicious treat here at Los Danzantes. Maybe not 10 days but 3 days in advance :) ... we are delighted to hear you had such a great experience and enjoyed our Mezcal. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    351
    100
    36
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is one of the finest restaurants in Oaxaca, but you'll definitely pay a great deal for the experience. The atmosphere is lovely and the service is excellent. However, I will say that you can have meals that are just as good that cost considerably less. It's certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica150801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, it is great to see you enjoyed our food and service. We appreciate your review, and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“If is only one diner for Oaxaca, this is the one not to miss!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

very good restaurant , not very easy to find since you need to get inside a building with shops to reach a small courtyard , and from there take a small hallway to reach The place.
Outstanding dining room , very unusual but beautiful with open sky above you(they will close the roof if rain).
Food selection and quality of meal very good and choices of unusual tastes to die for.So good we went twice in three days.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 150810Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed so much our food, ambience and the general experience. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretentious menu in a nice old place”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nothing I ate particularly impressed me except the prices, too high for the amount of food (beautifully arranged in our plates). The house is gorgeous, but many places are gorgeous in Oaxaca. My advice, eat at other real restaurants, and have a costly dessert/coffee at Los Danzantes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. It´s a pity to hear you did not have a great time at Los Danzantes… We would like to give a proper follow up to your comments and would appreciate to receive more info on the dishes you tasted please feel free to write to rpoaxaca@losdanzantes.com so we can look into this and hopefully receive you in another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Busy, busy restaurant”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was not overwhelmed with the food in this dark, dark place, in which a flashlight would have come in handy. I couldn't read the menu! The appetizer was phenomenal, a grilled cheese covered with long leaf, yerba santa, and the best green sauces ever. My partner's dish was a chicken with red mole, which was very tasty. My chile relleno with chicken and huitlacoche and a garni of chapulines was rather dry to my taste. The bread was astounding. And it was on the pricey side. Maybe if my dish had been more to my liking I would have given it 4 stars and not whined about the prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichardSchillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for all your comments. We are looking into giving a solution to the light problem (our servers usually carry little lamps to help out people in this cases, we will give follow up to why they did not offer you this option). We are delighted to hear you liked our hierba santa (it is one of our favorites too) the chef has been informed of your comments regarding the chile relleno, to see what went wrong (we usually do not receive any complaints regarding this dish)
We hope you can give us another opportunity to give you the best of the best food and service wise on your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing