We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe GOOD not very good?”
Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 468 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Maybe GOOD not very good?”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great décor, tasteful and unique. A bit pricy but elegance costs. Food was mixed, the filet de res lacked any distinct flavor. It took three tries to get medium rare which ended up medium.
My costillas (ribs) were excellent by both our opinions. Micro brew beer choices were good.
Over all it was OK with a winner and a loser. But very pretty inside! Coffee was very good.
Maybe another menu choice would bump it up?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimTheSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate receiving these information so we can look into what happened during your visit; we are glad you enjoyed the beer, coffee and ribs, we hope you can visit us any time soon so we can offer you more Mexican dishes and you can enjoy the Los Danzantes experience. We widely recommend, the hierba santa, the confit duck with mole and the tlayuda for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    343
    96
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I would reccomend it for a drink and appetizers . Its a gorgeous place, you can tell they spent money on the design/decor and quality of the materials. Its fun to sample threir mezcal or margaritas. They are really good! Great way to end your day in Oaxaca!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 209Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Los Danzantes Oaxaca, we are glad to hear you enjoyed our mezcal and had an overall great experience, we hope to see you again soon in your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Outstanding Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently we spent two weeks in Oaxaca. We enjoyed afternoon tapas and lovely wine in this beautiful restaurant. We developed a very nice relationship with the staff who knew our wine order as soon as we walked in the door. The atmosphere in the restaurant has old world charm with a mix of modern. The ceiling of the restaurant retracts and opens in the evening. Even during the heat and the humidity, the dining experience is cool and relaxing. We also enjoyed dinner which was fabulous. We returned to this restaurant many times and it is definitely on our list to visit the next time we return to Oaxaca City.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieY2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments; we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience at Los Danzantes, thanks for your recommendation and all your grateful comments. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great presentation”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Their presentation and aesthetic was amazing. I had this plantain appetizer with chocolate and meat inside rolled as a ball. It was quite amazing and filling. They changed these stone plate like 5 times through out the meal and the food was good also. I definitely would have gone back. Very airy spacey and noisy though. This is not a bad thing if you are in the mood for that scene. Not a place for intimate dinners. Very good place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreeStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so much, we are glad you were able to enjoy our food and had an overall great experience, we hope to see yopu again in your next visit to Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The atmosphere was very nice. It was nice to see three vegetarian dishes on the menu, but a bit of a disappointment that they were all pasta dishes. It would be nice since the meat dishes are regional specialties if there were also Oaxacan vegetarian dishes or at least Mexican vegetarian dishes. Nevertheless, my vegetarian lasagna was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sigulda158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We want to let you know that as we speak we are working on the new menu for Los Danzantes, your insight is of great help in defining the directions to take on some new dishes. Thanks for the time you took to communicate your concern. Hope to see you again soon at the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing