We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere”
Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 474 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The atmosphere was very nice. It was nice to see three vegetarian dishes on the menu, but a bit of a disappointment that they were all pasta dishes. It would be nice since the meat dishes are regional specialties if there were also Oaxacan vegetarian dishes or at least Mexican vegetarian dishes. Nevertheless, my vegetarian lasagna was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sigulda158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We want to let you know that as we speak we are working on the new menu for Los Danzantes, your insight is of great help in defining the directions to take on some new dishes. Thanks for the time you took to communicate your concern. Hope to see you again soon at the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    348
    97
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere, Good food and Good wine”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Go to Los Danzantes especially for the atmosphere and the design of the place! Food is also very good, although a little bit expensive! However, it's a nice experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RalucaGrosescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We appreciate your comments, tanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are glad you’ve enjoyed our food and atmosphere. Hope to see you again soon at Los Danzantes Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is our 3rd time here at the Danzantes.
The decoration is very modern, trendy and still gives the flair of Mexico.
The food is superb, the service very nice.
It is expensive for Oaxaca but its worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninfa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments, we are glad to hear you had such a nice time in our restaurant; we are glad we´ve met your dining experience expectations and we are hoping to see you again in your next visit to the beautiful Oaxaca city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Los Danzantes is a must. The food is delicious, the presentation is gorgeous, and the service is the best we've had in Oaxaca. The space is beautiful, and if you like Mezcal, they have a very good list of spirits to try. It's a touch on the pricey side... but for Mexico... compared to the states, this place is a steal. It's also a very casual environment, which makes for a fine, and relaxed, dining experience. The Tomoto cumin soup is great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks so much for all your comments, we are glad you enjoyed our food, service and mezcal. We appreciate your insight and hope you are able to visit us again and enjoy this experience of Mexican Oaxaca food again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had dinner at Los Danzantes and were impressed by the excellent service. The chef provided a complimentary hors d’ oeuvor , which was excellent. I was pleased to see a wine list that had only Mexican wines. You do not see that often.

My wife and I shared the Hierba Santa appertizer, which has been recommended on Trip Advisor. We would also recommend it. We each had the Spinach salad with Hibiscus dressing, which was followed by the Duck Tacos.

The setting is designed for a quite special evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MexicoKiteFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We widely appreciate all your comments and are truly pleased to hear you had such a great experience in our restaurant, as you point out the Hierba Santa is one of our favorite dishes, and we recommend it every time. It’s great to read we were able to transmit our appreciation of oaxacan food to you, during your visit to Los Danzantes. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing