We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 461 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
Monterrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful evening at Los Danzantes.
We were guided to our table and for some reason we decided we would drink a mezcal mojito, they name it something else though, sorry but we're not really cocktail people, it was too sweet for us, and I guess it was perfectly alright for cocktail people but that was our mistake. We quickly went back to track asking for a couple of straight mescales.
To start we shared the Hierba Santa filled with quesillo and goat cheese with a chipotle and tomato sauce that was fabulous. Then we both ordered the beef filet with a grasshopper sauce... wow! The meat was cooked just perfect, "al punto", the way we like it. I wanted to try one of the house wines but they were out of it so instead I ordered a bottle of 3V from Casa Madero, it went just fine with our meal.
The service was ok, we don't have any complaint at all. I mean we were on vacation and in no hurry at all and we really appreciate not being rushed. The place was clean and the people friendly

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Homero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments, it makes us so proud to see you had a great experience at Los Danzantes, we always recommend the hierba santa, it is one of our favorite dishes. We hope you can visit the restaurant again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    742
    336
    92
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing use of space, ok food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had heard great review from this restaurant, so I was a bit let down. It is by no means bad, just not amazing as I expected. Cocktails are fantatic though!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ad2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your opinion, we appreciate every input our customers can give us, we would like to ask for further information on your visit, so we can give thorough follow up to you comment, please let us know to rpoaxaca@losdanzantes.com the dishes you tried out. Hope we can receive you again and fulfill your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What's wrong with being a tourist?”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Dinner in Los Danzantes. A real difference in atmosphere and a welcome change eating out in Oaxaca. We really enjoyed our food and the house red was excellent. So, the other guests were tourists.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCH857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your opinion, we are glad you enjoyed our win,e ambiance and food, in this time of year we are glad to welcome a lot of tourists in our Restaurant, and are delighted to hear that we can provide a great experience sharing excellent oaxacan food with all our clients. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Try the holy leaf with goats cheese, the duck tacos and the chocolate waterfall!! To reach this restaurant you must walk into La Casa Vieja and go all the way in until you see Los Danzantes which is on a terrace. It is small but the service is great and the food is amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeya_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we are delighted to hear you had a great time and enjoyed all our food, we hope to see you again in your next visit to Oaxaca,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Last night dinner”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ended our vacation with a special dinner here. Service was very good for Oaxaca where it tends to be slow. I'm not crazy about mezcal, but the long list of mezcal cocktails is tempting. A wonderful dining room open to the sky.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Nancy, thank you so much for your comments about your visit to Danzantes, it fills us with joy to hear our service and our food were fit to match your dining experience standards, we really hope to see you again on your next visit to Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing