We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless meal with great service”
Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 492 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flawless meal with great service”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've lived in Oaxaca for five years and tried Danzantes every now and than with lukewarm results. Last night our dinner was simply wonderful. Three of us shared the duck appetizer (huge portion for an appetizer) and the spinach salad. The we had tuna with wild mushrooms, wild mushroom pasta and coconut shrimp. All three main courses were terrific and the presentation so beautiful. Dessert was the goat cheese flan which the three of us shared. We shared a bottle of white wine. All was perfect and I haven't yet mentioned the stunning architecture of the room. It must be seen.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MargieOaxaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    352
    100
    36
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rottnest Island, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“sensational fit out”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was a spectacular venue however I found the food ordinary and over priced,
The service however was good

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Eclectic interior with a superb menu!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had seen the unassuming entrance off an interior courtyard while out walking around but had not poked our heads in to check the interior or the menu. However, some friends (review below) also visiting Oaxaca at the same time recommended this restaurant and we decided to got there on our last night. The interior was quite interesting, especially the bar constructed of blocks of crushed cars. The service was quite attentive and far better than the norm. We ordered Arrachera and Ribs and were both extremely pleased with our choices. Their margaritas were excellent as were the wine offerings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, service pretty good, smoky environment”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had only a few small plates so I can't speak to the main dishes. The food was good, but it wasn't our favorite meal while in Oaxaca. Unfortunately the enclosed courtyard made for a smoky environment. The modern architecture created a fun, trendy setting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank krb11882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Impeccable experience and a great atmoshpere!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I were not expecting such a beautiful and intimate garden setting. Our first impression was really: wow! A friend wanted to take us there and we now understand why. We were not disappointed. The decor is really stunning, the food is great and the service impeccable. It's amazing to discover what the city of Oaxaca has to offer in terms of gastronomy. Los Danzantes definitely stands out among the best addresses in town. The style is supposed to be «Oaxacan fusion cuisine» but I still have hard times to define exactly what is «fusion cuisine». I can only say that what we have eaten there was great and well presented (an amazing plate of coconut shrimps with fruit sauce and rice for me and a superb tuna dish for my husband). They also serve great cocktails (I had a margarita mezcalita and loved the smokey taste of mezcal) and delicious dessert (like a surprising goat cheese ice cream with a cake... yummy!). And don't miss the bathroom... everything at Los Danzantes is so stylish! More expansive than other places in Oaxaca, but still a very good ratio quality/price (for sure can't find anything like this for that price in Montreal).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing