We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime Vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Raab

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Raab
Ranked #37 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Sublime Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I spent eight lovely days at Casa Raab with my family. We rented the main house which is beautiful and quirky, filled with local art and great books. Tony and Rebecca were fantastic hosts and felt like old friends by the time we left. Their entire estate is enchanting and wild. After only a few days, it seemed as if we were part of the local community. The surrounding country is delightful for walking and exploring. Our stay at Casa Raab was a perfect combination of rural luxury.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivypoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Our family was privileged to spend Christmas 2010 at Casa Raab. The beautiful website had sold us on making that our place for a reunion for 7 members of our family. However, when we arrived we were almost speechless with wonder that it was even more enchanting than it had been pictured. Every aspect of our stay there was amazing. Tony and Rebecca are the most generous and gracious hosts and the house and grounds are like being in a comfy wonderland. We couldn't have dreamed up a more perfect and delightful place to spend our holiday. We highly recommend it for anyone who wants to experience rustic luxury, an off-the-beaten-track paradise vacation, and the gift of letting yourselves be pampered by Rebecca and Tony Raab and their wonderful staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trussels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed at Casa Raab for 2 months in the casita and another 10 days in the casa grande. It was like a home away from home. Everything you could want or need was there, not to mention the wonderful walks and sunsets. Tony and Rebecca are most helpful and informed. The website gives a very good description. I have taken with me so many memorable moments, sights, experiences, and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriolagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabriola island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

I just returned from 2 1/2 months at Casa Raab. It was nearly the perfect Mexican getaway. First, the Dec/Jan weather was hot & sunny all day & chilly enough to sleep well at night. The 2 bdrm casita is a bright and sunny home with a kitchen which made cooking with local foods fun. Walking the gorgeous hill country on the property and surrounding towns was spectacular at sunset and safe anytime. The people in the area are sweet and friendly. Trips to nearby towns and attractions were great but the Casa is so lovely and Rebecca and Tony so helpful and accommodating that mostly we just stayed home. The pool is refreshing and the animals are a treat! Then there's the mescal!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

3 of us shared the Casita for 2 months. Well equipped kitchen. Spacious rooms/ Lovely garden, Great place for walks. You have to love animals to completely enjoy this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogsoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We really enjoyed staying at Casa Raab. It is approx 30 minutes outside downtown (Historico) Oaxaca City but the peace and beauty of the place justify the commute. Plus, after you have had enough of downtown Oaxaca City, this area is rife with craft villages and wonderful markets. Tony and Rebecca are wonderful hosts, full of information about the area - history, politics, crafts etc. The staff are friendly and helpful. Guests are welcome to join Tony and Rebecca on their morning walks after which we enjoyed a great breakfast. We joined friends from Canada who were staying for two months in the casita. We stayed in the big house and had the place to ourselves. Everything was very comfortable - beds and pillows, a fireplace and lots of wood in every room, lots of games and books. We drove to Oaxaca but you don't need a car to stay at Casa Raab. Tony has a van and knows everyone within a radius of 50 miles (just guessing) - he was a mine of valuable information - not the least about the production of mescal. Casa Raab was great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margoandthecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Spent 10 days with friends at Casa Raab. Tony and Becky Raab, the hosts, ensure a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The house and the area have three GREAT features:
Great food--Great birding and nature--Great local culture.

As a bonus, enjoy tasting mescal and listening to the funky sounds of 'The Bodega Boys' (the house band).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregHomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
5.7 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#6 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
5.2 mi away
Mision de Los Angeles
Mision de Los Angeles
#55 of 112 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Raab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Raab

Property: Casa Raab
Address: Camino Seminario S/N | San Pablo Etla, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Raab is a unique 40 acre country estate in the foothills of Oaxaca, Mexico. We offer full B&B services in a ranch-like setting. We welcome individuals or groups up to fifteen people. Great meals, a fine swimming pool, transportation & touring solutions, high speed internet, and the chance to stay in the country... 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing