We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mexico City
Post
Inbox
Search

“While walking down Calle Colima”
Review of Blanco Colima

Blanco Colima
Ranked #67 of 6,969 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Cuauhtemoc District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Cuauhtemoc District
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While walking down Calle Alvaro Obregón in Roma Norte to find a place to eat we doubled back on Calle Colima and stumbled on to Blanco Coima. Great building, friendly and helpful staff and wonderful food on an extremely adventurous menu

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 640harryi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is located in an old building, one of the former residences of Porfirio Diaz, a Mexican President of the late 19th Century. The three story stone edifice contains numerous small rooms for dining and a couple of large barrooms with a disk jockey in between. If you like loud, stay in the bar and have tapas or a full meal. If you prefer quieter surroundings as we do, then choose any one of the numerous small dining rooms or the terrace. We ate on the terrace in January and the temperature was in the 60’s. Heaters are provided if needed.
We are not Spanish speakers but were treated very well by the staff from booking our table to being provided with complete explanations of the food when the menu did not tell all. After some excellent tamarind margaritas, we had two first courses, a mushroom salad with several different kinds of mushroom and a not to be missed burrata and beet salad, photo below. The burrata was very fresh and the beets were perfect.
I settled for a hamburger and it was quite large. It was not cooked enough for my taste and they took it back immediately and the result was delicious. I recommend the fries as well. My wife had the fish slopes which were tasty but which I would not recommend.
We did not have dessert.
All through the meal, we could look out on the street below our terrace and watch the crowd. It was a weekend so things were happening. We were even serenaded by three musicians! I liked this restaurant as much for the setting and the service as for the food.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Corn1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived by chance at 3PM drawn in by the elegant exterior. We were warmly welcomed and so lucky to find superb food. They brought us a halved artichoke as a gift from the chef having heard us talk about artichokes.

We had the raw tuna tacos .... divine... delicate, nuanced flavors of (maybe?) toasted and un toasted sesame seed, cilantro sprouts, chopped veg or fruit? (Slightly sweet), and tuna on delicate crispy taco strips.

Then four small tacos of shredded pork shank with cilantro sprouts

We had the raw tuna tacos .... divine... delicate, nuanced flavors of (maybe?) toasted and un toasted sesame seed, cilantro sprouts, chopped veg or fruit? (Slightly sweet), and tuna on delicate crispy taco strips.

Then four small tacos of shredded pork shank with cilantro sprouts served with finely chopped onion and herb, guacamole, peppery peanut sauce, and lime on the side.

They brought us tiny twisted cookies and a cold chocolate creamy “something” in tiny espresso cups and we ordered THE MOST AMAZING cheese cake with cardamon... so soft and creamy and real ... better than any I have had in Sicily, Milan, anywhere!

Wow ... cannot wait to return ... also great interesting cocktails. Meal and 1-1/2 drinks and a diet coke ...About $32 each before tip.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Saharboralice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

This restaurant exceeds ....... as soon as we got into this hip cool ultra delightful place we were met with smiles and asked where we wanted to sit and we sat ont the balcony ! We ordered salad so fresh and rich ravioli ! Dinner was amazing short ribs soooo good and light and juicy ! The fish again light and super tasty. Cesar was our server and Juan Antonio the captain both brought first class attention . I love this place very fancy and casual ..... the bar has a DJ and again so hipster

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank danielsB4620GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Went for my brother's birthday, and it was a great experience. Food amazing, service sooo good and what a beautiful place. Totally recommend this place.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roselby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanco Colima also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blanco Colima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing